PDA

View Full Version : Hierophant Warp Field



Learn2Eel
11-26-2012, 06:34 AM
Hey guys, just got a quick question about the biggest of the beasties.

Having done some research on this, I've learned that the psychic power "Warp Field" from the previous Tyranid codex granted a 2+ armour save and a 6+ invulnerable save, or something along those lines. Hence, a Hierophant with the Warp Field psychic power has a 2+ armour save and a 6+ invulnerable save. However, given that the Hierophant's biomorphs and upgrades follow the rules found in the Tyranid codex, it is logical to assume that to be used appropriately they benefit from the new codex changes (i.e. in regards to Scything Talons, Lash Whips and the like).

Now, Warp Field is no longer a psychic power in the new Tyranid codex. As such, there is no up-to-date definition of the rule. From what I can tell, most are using the definition found in the new Codex: Tyranids. This means that it instead has the Warp Field special rule, which would normally grant it a 3+ invulnerable save. Though the 2+ armour save was apparently granted from Warp Field in the old rules, the fact remains that the 2+ armour save is listed in the Hierophant's basic profile without mention to the Warp Field psychic power. As such, it is safe to assume that it is treated as having a 2+ armour save.

Now, the meat of the question is how Warp Field actually works for a Hierophant; given how lots of Forgeworld units released prior to current codices now use the current ones' rules when said rules are referred to in the units' profile, should the Hierophant be treated as such with Warp Field? Should it be ignored, given that it is listed as a psychic power and not a special rule, or should it actually be used considering the model's rules that used to be in the old Tyranid codex have now been updated? Also, if this is the case, does the Hierophant actually benefit from the 3+ invulnerable save? I direct everyone to this quote from the Zoanthrope entry in the current Tyranid codex, page 44;


A Warp Field grants a Zoanthrope a 3+ invulnerable save.

This is pretty indisputable. The entry specifically refers to Zoanthropes only. However, there is an underlying issue which must be addressed in addition to the Hierophant; the Doom of Malan'tai.
The Doom of Malan'tai (page 58) is listed as having the "Warp Field" special rule; however, there is no insert to say "it is treated as a Zoanthrope for the purpose of....". There is nothing in the Doom of Malan'tai's entry or unit profile to say that it is a Zoanthrope, even if its background denotes otherwise. There is also no rule regarding Legendary Creatures in regards to being treated as a member of their type for the purposes of any biomorphs or special rules.

Accordingly, RAW indicates that the Doom of Malan'tai would not benefit from Warp Field, even though that is how everyone plays it as RAI says the complete opposite. Would this also be true of the Hierophant? Before we get to that obviously, do you think the Hierophant's rules that are supposed to be defined in the previous Tyranids codex be updated to match the new codex, and thus should Warp Field be treated as the special rule and not a psychic power, seeing as the psychic power doesn't exist anymore?

Very interested in the responses I get. I've never really seen a definitive answer on the issue. Mostly it seems to boil down to what people think is fair - I've never used one or seen one in action, but apparently Hierophant's are severely under-costed for what they do, and thus giving them a 3+ invulnerable save would be considered overkill. However, others point out that their ones die quickly if they don't have the 3+ invulnerable save - basically, its a can of worms.

Side note: As much as it is "i" before "e", except after "c", the Hierophant's name still confuses the hell out of me. Anyone else get confused with its name as well?
Someone pointed out to me that instead of buying a Tyranid army I could just get one of these :cool: Haha that's great for a $350 AUD model. :eek: Though to be fair a 1250 point model for $350 AUD is actually more cost-efficient than buying a legal Tyranid army, but eh.

CridiDeal
11-26-2012, 08:30 AM
Hey guys, just got a quick question about the biggest of the beasties.
The Doom of Malan'tai (page 58) is listed as having the "Warp Field" special rule; however, there is no insert to say "it is treated as a Zoanthrope for the purpose of....". There is nothing in the Doom of Malan'tai's entry or unit profile to say that it is a Zoanthrope, even if its background denotes otherwise.

The FAQ clearly states, that the Doom is a special form of Zoantrophe.

I can see arguments from both sides being valid. It would make the Hierophant extremely undercosted and totally over-powered.
You should try to find an agreement you and your mates can live with. I would say either 2+/5++ or 3+/4++.

Learn2Eel
11-26-2012, 08:39 AM
Ah, forgot to check the FAQ. Thanks!

I think, as you say, the argument is still valid though. If we use its lash whips, scything talons and the like as the current codex equivalents, it makes you wonder how to define the Warp Field part. As it is listed as a psychic power and not a special rule, I guess you could stop it there, but it is still using the name and by the same logic should be updated as well.

Yeah I think I agree, I would just ask around and see what they think. Or just see what my LGS owner says and go from there - that would be quicker I guess.

Mystery.Shadow
11-26-2012, 08:42 AM
We've done this several times....

Before Apocalypse Game turn one. We call up Games-Workshop and say: "Hello! You are on Speakerphone, and your audience is about twenty rabid nerds. Your answer will determine the rule of our upcoming game. What is the Invulnerable Save of a Hierophant?"

Thus far, the answer has always been 3++

CridiDeal
11-26-2012, 08:53 AM
Not too sure, whether this would be 100% valid, as technically it is a Forgeworld miniature.
But RAW it is 100% ok (at least for me) until FAQ'd.

JMichael
11-26-2012, 01:57 PM
After reading the Hierophant datasheet from GW's Apocalypse Expansion book and the Tyranid codex, I feel that the Warp Field power should be disregarded.

1. The datasheet says the Hierophant is a psyker with the Warp Field power.
2. Warp Field as listed in the Tyranid codex is for Zoanthropes only and not a psychic power, but more of an innate ability.

Since it's not a psychic power and the Hierophant is also not a Zoanthrope I don't see how it could gain the 3++. There were other abilities and powers from other races codices that are to be ignored in 6th (and indeed some in 5th edition too).

I didn't see any Forgeworld update/FAQ that mentions the Hierophant or its available powers or Mastery Level.

isotope99
11-26-2012, 02:32 PM
It's not clear, though the leaning does seem to be use the new rules i.e. 3++.

Personally from a balance perspective I would say look at the opposing army and table size, if it's packed with Str D weapons on a deep table, use the 3++ or it'll be dead before it can do anything (not fun for you), if your enemy has none or only a very few, or you're playing on a shallow table, use the 6++ or it'll romp through everything (not fun for your opponent)

Tynskel
11-26-2012, 05:02 PM
Uuuuuuuuh...

I swear sometimes...
Apocalypse questions are really not useful on the forums. They are better for you to discuss amongst that group that is playing Apocalypse. The Apocalypse Book recommends having a 'game master'.


There might be reasons for the Heirophant to have 3++. For example, you may have only one Titan, and the other side has 5. Balancing the game out with a 3++.

Other instances, the 3++ on the Heirophant is redonkulous. Then you would switch it to something else.

Overall, Apocalypse questions are not rules driven. They are group dynamics driven, and should be discussed amongst your group. Apocalypse questions do not determine 'how to play 40k', they are about creating an environment for custom rules.

Learn2Eel
11-26-2012, 09:44 PM
Thanks for the input guys. Seems like it should be a case-by-case basis, though again I will probably just go to my LGS owner and see what he thinks, that way it won't unnecessarily confuse players. Ultimately I don't think most where I play would care - with or without the warp field, it is likely it simply will not die.

It is funny looking at tactics from 5th Edition for this thing. Poisoned apparently was its bane. Now, given the Gargantuan Resistance rule which says that all weapons that wound on a dice roll and not a normal to wound roll wound only a 6, poisoned weapons and the like don't do a damn to it anymore. Daemon Prince with the Black Mace? Sorry, 6s buddy (unless you Smash). Bloody hell.

daboarder
11-26-2012, 10:30 PM
Thanks for the input guys. Seems like it should be a case-by-case basis, though again I will probably just go to my LGS owner and see what he thinks, that way it won't unnecessarily confuse players. Ultimately I don't think most where I play would care - with or without the warp field, it is likely it simply will not die.

It is funny looking at tactics from 5th Edition for this thing. Poisoned apparently was its bane. Now, given the Gargantuan Resistance rule which says that all weapons that wound on a dice roll and not a normal to wound roll wound only a 6, poisoned weapons and the like don't do a damn to it anymore. Daemon Prince with the Black Mace? Sorry, 6s buddy (unless you Smash). Bloody hell.

Keep in mind

1) your playing apoc,
2) your using forgeworld,
3) that model is expensive both cash and pointwise

do you really want to be the kind of person that throws toys out of the sandpit on the change in usage of a single word in what is most assurdy a beer and pretzels game?

Archon Charybdis
11-26-2012, 11:50 PM
It is funny looking at tactics from 5th Edition for this thing. Poisoned apparently was its bane. Now, given the Gargantuan Resistance rule which says that all weapons that wound on a dice roll and not a normal to wound roll wound only a 6, poisoned weapons and the like don't do a damn to it anymore.

That's not new, it's right in the Apocalypse rulebook all the way from 4th edition.

Learn2Eel
11-27-2012, 02:32 AM
Keep in mind

1) your playing apoc,
2) your using forgeworld,
3) that model is expensive both cash and pointwise

do you really want to be the kind of person that throws toys out of the sandpit on the change in usage of a single word in what is most assurdy a beer and pretzels game?

No one I know has gargantuan creatures. I would like to get some, and the Hierophant looks the most appealing to me. I can't really be blamed for using it.
And as I pointed out earlier, a lot of people have had their Hierophant's survive withering amounts of abuse without the 3+ invulnerable save. Hence, I don't really mind which way it is judged.
It's either this thing or Ae'taeos'Rau'Keres. At least the Hierophant doesn't have a metric tonne of rules I have to remember.

@Archon Huh, I didn't know that. I've been reading the wrong articles it seems. Thanks!

Mystery.Shadow
11-27-2012, 05:30 PM
Just going to leave this here....

http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetMysteryShadow/TurkeyDay+Apocalypse+2012/

daboarder
11-28-2012, 12:31 AM
No one I know has gargantuan creatures. I would like to get some, and the Hierophant looks the most appealing to me. I can't really be blamed for using it.
And as I pointed out earlier, a lot of people have had their Hierophant's survive withering amounts of abuse without the 3+ invulnerable save. Hence, I don't really mind which way it is judged.
It's either this thing or Ae'taeos'Rau'Keres. At least the Hierophant doesn't have a metric tonne of rules I have to remember.

@Archon Huh, I didn't know that. I've been reading the wrong articles it seems. Thanks!


Eel....I'M AGREEING WITH YOU,

its a fantastic hing to stick on the table and you shouldn't be playing apoc with the kind of person I was talking about.

it has a 3++ arguing it doesn't merely due to the use of the word zoanthrope is really quite silly given the situation where it would be applicable.

Learn2Eel
11-28-2012, 02:23 AM
Oh lol sorry I misunderstood your post, thought you meant I was being a bit cynical to be trying something like that.

Haha thanks.

Mystery.Shadow
11-28-2012, 08:37 AM
...it has a 3++ arguing it doesn't merely due to the use of the word zoanthrope is really quite silly given the situation where it would be applicable.

In the Apoc game linked above, the Eldar player had no trouble killing one, and nearly killing a second one!

Inflicting D3 Wounds takes them down quick! Even with a 3++

Archon Charybdis
11-28-2012, 11:31 AM
In the Apoc game linked above, the Eldar player had no trouble killing one, and nearly killing a second one!

Inflicting D3 Wounds takes them down quick! Even with a 3++

If you're house-ruling it so D weapons deal D3 wounds then a 3++ might be reasonable (I question what you'd do to balance it out for other GCs though). But as is, Destroyer weapons don't deal d3 wounds, only attacks or special rules that remove a model outright do, not just attacks that inflict Instant Death. And then for an extra level of complication, the Vortex Grenade has it's own unique rules for damaging GCs.

Mystery.Shadow
11-28-2012, 06:06 PM
Eldar D-Cannons inflict Instant Death on a 6. -But for a Gargantuan Creature, that's only D3 Wounds.

Archon Charybdis
11-28-2012, 07:09 PM
Eldar D-Cannons inflict Instant Death on a 6. -But for a Gargantuan Creature, that's only D3 Wounds.

There's a difference between inflicting Instant Death and killing or removing a model outright (besides GCs, no model is immune to removes from play). Admittedly the Apocalypse rulebook seems a bit confused because it uses some 4th ed references (at the time it was written Force Weapons removed from play, they didn't cause Instat Death), but it's still pretty clear:

"All gargantuan creatures are immune to the Instant Death rule. In addition... they are not affected by any attack that would normally kill a model automatically (like a Force Weapon, an attack that kills as a result of a failed Characteristic test, etc.) Such attacks cause D3 wounds instead."

Emphasis mine. Ignoring the outdated Force Weapon reference, the rule makes a clear distinction between Instant Death and things that kill automatically like the Black Mace,JotWW, or Stern's special ability. It doesn't say GCs are immune to Instant Death and instead take d3 wounds; it says GCs are immune to Instant Death and "in addition", other kinds of attacks that remove outright deal d3 wounds instead.

The 6th ed update makes it even clearer by removing the outdated Force Weapon mention from the dealing d3 wounds section.

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Downloads/Product/PDF/a/apoc6thupdate.pdf

Lord Krungharr
12-04-2012, 09:27 PM
Since the new Nids Codex specifically grants Zooanthropes the WarpField, I don't think the BioTitan gets it. And Adepticon doesn't think so either (see page 11 I think); that's the only time I ever see anyone bring those bugs out:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/s/up/INATappendix_v3.0.pdf

Or if it the BioTitan rules say it has a WarpField psychic power, then every turn the BioTitan should have to take a psychic test to get the invul each turn; except in the Gladiator at Adepticon of course, in which case it gets no invul (HOORAY!).

Too bad about the Fleshbane though; I wanted to use my little Mace Prince to take down something big. Of course he could still Smash and get a good number of attacks wounding on 3s at AP2, and the BioTitan could still suffer D3 extra wounds from rolling a 6 from the Curse. All this and more could be yours if the Daemon Prince surivives until I1 from the damn Lash Whips.
No Eternal Warrior on the Daemon Princes is B%*^*^$T!