PDA

View Full Version : Thinning GW paint for airbrushing.

Blackcloud6
11-04-2012, 09:09 PM
Have any of you thinned GW paint for airbrushing? If so, what did you use for a thinning medium?

Emerald Rose Widow
11-04-2012, 09:45 PM
Have any of you thinned GW paint for airbrushing? If so, what did you use for a thinning medium?

I often use distilled water myself, and make the paint the consistency of milk roughly. Many suggest using a little windex mixed into the water mixture, not much, and it breaks up the surface tension. I have no experience with this but will test it soon so I do not know the proper mix, but I am curious myself.

wittdooley
11-04-2012, 09:49 PM
Windex works well. Like Emerald said, just mix until its the consistency of milk. Voila.

vharing
11-04-2012, 11:01 PM
I found a page somewhere on another forum where someone said to use windex, rubbing alcohol and distilled water. I mix up a big enough batch to fill 3 travel sized shampoo bottles at a time and use it to thinned my paints and clean my airbrush as well. And like everyone else said, thin to the consistency of milk.

Eberk
11-05-2012, 12:23 AM
Consistency of Milk...

does that works for both 'Base' and 'Layer' paints ??

Deadlift
11-05-2012, 12:26 AM
Personally I use airbrush medium by "liquitex" I make up a batch which is 9 parts distiller water and 1 part medium. Then I found 50/50 thinner and paint does the job. If your going to mix the paint with the thinner in the brush always add the thinner 1st :)

http://www.liquitex.com/airbrushmedium/

FireHazard
11-05-2012, 05:56 AM
Oddly enough, I watched this last night. It's an Introduction to Airbrushing with Ken Schlotfeldt (who owns Badger Air-Brush Co). It's an hour and a half long but it's informative in setting up for airbrushing, including paint thinning. Worthwhile watch if you're going to be airbrushing regularly. Sadly, no airbrushing techniques.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsW-vN0_lHw&feature=plcp

Blackcloud6