View Full Version : Question regarding Challenges
RGilbert26
11-01-2012, 06:40 AM
If i assault my Great Unclean One into a unit which contains at least one 'character', issue a challenge and then win the challenge - what happens to the rest of the unit's attacks?
Aegwymourn
11-01-2012, 07:22 AM
for that player turn, nothing. you are still locked in assault, and they still have to take the moral test for losing, but they do not get to attack since for that phase you were in a challenge.
RGilbert26
11-01-2012, 07:44 AM
That's handy to know, quite nasty if you assault or are assaulted by a Command Squad, just issue Challenges until all characters are dead :P
Demonus
11-01-2012, 07:49 AM
Ill follow with this scenario. We were unable to find in the book the specific rule so if someone could point to it it would be appreciated.
Typhus + 4 Terminators assault my MC. Chaos has to issue a challenge, the Sgt does so. MC kills Sgt in first round of combat.
Next round, is Typhus now required to issue a challenge? Looking at the rulebook, it only discusses that a second challenge cant be issued while a challenge is going on. It then goes on to say what happens if both challengers survive.
So does a second round of challenges get issued until no characters left, or does the unit fight as normal?
cheers.
RGilbert26
11-01-2012, 09:07 AM
Erm problem with your example is that you said that the MC kills the Sgt, if MC kills Sgt then it goes onto next character. Im guessing you meant to say Sgt survives first round :P
bfmusashi
11-01-2012, 09:26 AM
Since the GUO is only killing one dude a player turn I'm not sure it's a viable strategy. You've basically tar-pitted yourself and any turn your opponent doesn't want to play the challenge game anymore he can refuse, or simply not issue.
Nabterayl
11-01-2012, 11:01 AM
If i assault my Great Unclean One into a unit which contains at least one 'character', issue a challenge and then win the challenge - what happens to the rest of the unit's attacks?
A challenge is ongoing until the end of the phase, so even if your duelist kills his duelist at the very start of the combat, the other guys stand around doing nothing until the next assault phase (though of course they would have given their champion moral support re-rolls, if there were enough of them).
Ill follow with this scenario. We were unable to find in the book the specific rule so if someone could point to it it would be appreciated.
Typhus + 4 Terminators assault my MC. Chaos has to issue a challenge, the Sgt does so. MC kills Sgt in first round of combat.
Next round, is Typhus now required to issue a challenge? Looking at the rulebook, it only discusses that a second challenge cant be issued while a challenge is going on. It then goes on to say what happens if both challengers survive.
So does a second round of challenges get issued until no characters left, or does the unit fight as normal?
cheers.
Typhus is required to issue a challenge next assault phase. That's the next time issuing a challenge is "possible" (Chaos 28), because a challenge lasts until the end of the phase even if one combatant is already dead (rulebook 64). So Typhus would fight as normal in the round the challenge was issued, and then be forced to issue a challenge in the second round of combat (in this case, the MC's turn), (unless the MC did it for him, since the MC gets to issue challenges first in its turn - but as Typhus would be the only Chaos character left, and thus be forced to accept, it makes no real difference).
DarkLink
11-01-2012, 12:04 PM
"Must issue a challenge" means "must issue a challenge". So you must issue a challenge when you have the opportunity to do so.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.