PDA

View Full Version : How Many Teachers are There in the Lounge?

Chris Copeland
10-24-2012, 09:02 PM
Dear Loungers,
I just wrapped up the first Nine Weeks of school (a standard grading peiod in my part of the world). I am neck deep in Parent-Teacher Conferences for the rest of this week and the beginning of next. I'm a busy teacher, to say the least. It's cutting into my table-top time!

I've been wondering: how many other educators doe we have here in the BoLS Lounge? Any elementary teachers (like me) here? Middle school? High school? College educators? I'm curious.

To all of my fellow teachers out there: keep up the good work! Don't let the crazies bring you down or reduce your love of educating young minds! Keep on trucking!

Peace! Cope

Drunkencorgimaster
10-24-2012, 09:54 PM
Elementary school? Chris, I'd say you earn your pay.

I'm at a university. It is probably much less real work than you have to do admittedly, but the research requirements can be tricky. Publish or perish and all that. Once I got tenure though the pressure was greatly reduced.

Wildeybeast
10-26-2012, 12:09 PM
Elementary school? Chris, I'd say you earn your pay.

I'm at a university. It is probably much less real work than you have to do admittedly, but the research requirements can be tricky. Publish or perish and all that. Once I got tenure though the pressure was greatly reduced.

That makes you lecturer, not a teacher. They're practically adults. :p

I'm one, though I don't know about your fancy American age system. I'm secondary which is 11-16 and we have a sixth form so they stay on until 18. I just broke up for half term holiday so I'm demob happy!

Drunkencorgimaster
10-27-2012, 10:57 PM
That makes you lecturer, not a teacher. They're practically adults. :p

I'm one, though I don't know about your fancy American age system. I'm secondary which is 11-16 and we have a sixth form so they stay on until 18. I just broke up for half term holiday so I'm demob happy!