PDA

View Full Version : Doom Scythe and firing into units locked in combat?



xxxxDMANxxxx
09-26-2012, 05:04 PM
So today I got in a 2v2 game of 40k with some friends. Necrons vs Daemonss/Dark Eldar. The issue came up where their Daemon Prince was locked in combat with our Deathmarks. We had the Doom Scythe lined up for a shot. We were wondering if the Doom Scythe could nominate two points as per rules and still try to hit the locked Daemon Prince. We knew we would fry some Deathmarks, but didn't care.

Nabterayl
09-26-2012, 06:44 PM
Yeah, I don't see any reason why not. You aren't targeting those units, so the rules against targeting units locked don't apply.

Calgar33
09-26-2012, 06:49 PM
No, pg. 28 in the rule book bars you from firing into close combat. Even though you just nominate two points for the weapon you are still specifically targeting models in close combat.

Nabterayl
09-26-2012, 08:17 PM
You know what, Calgar's response made me think about torrent weapons, which have a similar firing mechanic but can't be used in this way. So I'm reversing my answer to no.

boestera
09-26-2012, 09:53 PM
I would disagree, the Death Ray is one of (if not) the only weapons that doesn't actually require a "target" to even shoot it. But the argument comes down to the fact that there isn't a rule stating you can or one stating you can't with it...so it becomes a RAW vs RAI battle. The special rules in the Necron codex for the Death Ray state that it hits any unit under its line (friendly or enemy), leads me to believe they intended for it to be able to hit units in combat, much like a blast scattering into one.

JMichael
09-27-2012, 01:09 AM
The Eldar Vibro cannon works in a very similar way (you don't pick a target, just draw a 36" line and all units touched by the line take d6 hits).
The Eldar FAQ specifically states that it can hit models in close combat.
It seems to me that the Death Ray works the same way.

DrLove42
09-27-2012, 02:20 AM
The Eldar FAq says you can hit units in combat. What is doesn't say is that you can target units in combat.

The vibrocannon draws a much longer line, therefore it can hit your targetted unit and continue on and hit others. But you can't target units.

Generally RAI in my opinion is that you cannot target a unit in CC. If you target another unit, and the line hits them AND continues into a combat, that might be different

Thiazi
09-27-2012, 05:37 AM
Generally RAI in my opinion is that you cannot target a unit in CC. If you target another unit, and the line hits them AND continues into a combat, that might be different

With the Death ray you do not target any unit. You pick two points and everything in between is hit. So yes units under that line in close combat are hit.

Demonus
09-28-2012, 01:30 PM
Yep I agree with Thiazi. You are not targeting a unit in CC, you are targeting 2 points on the field. The weapon description even specifically states that models in cc can be hit.

Anggul
09-28-2012, 02:31 PM
Agreed, you aren't targeting any units specifically, in fact you could sweep the Death Ray across open ground and accomplish absolutely nothing if you wanted to, so no rules are stopping you from doing it.