PDA

View Full Version : Lord Commissar's Aura



Turner
08-29-2012, 10:05 AM
Does the IG Lord Commissar's aura effect the unit he is attached to? The reason I am asking is if a Lord Commissar is attached to a 45man blob (not 50 because all 5 Sgts. Died in some freak accident and the all failed their "Look Out Sir" rolls!) And that blob jumps into CC and the enemy issues a challenge... If the Lord Commissar declines I realize the blob may not use his leadership as per the normal IC rules but since this is a codex thing stating all units within 6" must use his leadership... I want to say yes, because A) I'm an IG player and obviously lean towards anything helpful and B) want to say the unit he is attached to is within 6" (plus it doesn't say all other units it says all units)


Any thoughts?

Xenith
08-29-2012, 11:23 AM
Specific rules override general rules.

In order of least specific to most specific:

Units use own Ld < Units within 6" of commissar use commissar's Ld < If the commissar refuses a challenge, his unit cannot use his Ld in combat

Generic rule, the unit in combat cannot use his Ld because he has declined a challenge.
Other units within 6" can use his Ld, because the declining a challenge rules say nothing about his Ld being used by other units.

Kyban
08-29-2012, 11:27 AM
Specific rules override general rules.

In order of least specific to most specific:

Units use own Ld < Units within 6" of commissar use commissar's Ld < If the commissar refuses a challenge, his unit cannot use his Ld in combat

Generic rule, the unit in combat cannot use his Ld because he has declined a challenge.
Other units within 6" can use his Ld, because the declining a challenge rules say nothing about his Ld being used by other units.

The problem is in 6th they changed that so rules that affect less models and codex rules override general rules and brb rules so RAW they would still get to use his ld. It's really annoying the way they wrote it on pg. 7.

Xenith
08-30-2012, 04:48 AM
You could play it either way, to be fair. I wouldnt argue. I can imagine the commissar standing at the back away from the challenges 'encouraging' the platoon.

Rapture
08-30-2012, 05:26 AM
The 'specificity' of thos is off from what the rules actually say. The codex rule would be the most specific as it applies to a specific independent character.

In order of least specific to most specific:

Units use own Ld < If a character refuses a challenge, his unit cannot use his Ld in combat < Units within 6" of the Lord Commissar use the Lord Commissar's Ld

Xenith
08-30-2012, 09:45 AM
The 'specificity' of thos is off from what the rules actually say. The codex rule would be the most specific as it applies to a specific independent character.

But the rulebook rules are also specific to the character.

The more a rule is used/activated, the less specific it is. More specific rules break the less specific ones.

Eg, deepstriking, less specific to more specific.

Deepstrikers scatter 2d6< models with the DoA rule scatter d6 < models deepstriking within 6" of a beacon do not scatter.

The commissars power is always on. There is a specific instance in the rulebook when a character may not pass his Ld on to the unit he is with.