View Full Version : Demon prince lash rules
stpwnage
08-19-2012, 07:29 AM
When a demon prince casts lash on a unit where only half of them are in true LOS can you lash then lets say 8 inches over a wall? My mate argued that I can only lash the guys in line of sight as far as I can as long as they maintain unit coherence
Archon Charybdis
08-19-2012, 08:31 AM
When a demon prince casts lash on a unit where only half of them are in true LOS can you lash then lets say 8 inches over a wall? My mate argued that I can only lash the guys in line of sight as far as I can as long as they maintain unit coherence
Is the question does Lash only affect those models in a unit that are in LoS? If so, then no, Lash targets units not models; if any part of the unit is in LoS the whole unit is a valid target.
If the question is once you've successfully cast and rolled to hit with Lash, can you move them out of LoS, then the answer is yes. Mechanically, there's absolutely no reason you couldn't. It only matters if you're in range and LoS at the time you actually use the power, not when resolve it's effects.
stpwnage
08-19-2012, 09:57 AM
yeah thats exactly what I thought. His argument was that with the new wound alocation rules, you cant allocate wounds on models that are out of line of sight, and that because its a psychic shooting attack that you cannot lash the units out of LOS. We 4+'d it and I rolled an 8 and pulled them over a rock wall, away from an objective to win the game.
He was adamant that I couldn't do it but I dont see why not, the rules say the move is unaffected by terrain and stated that I can actually place units into difficult / dangerous terrain.
Has 6th edition changed the mechanics of this ability at all? other than rolling to hit on a 2+ then a 6+ suffer the witch or w/e its called.
Denzark
08-19-2012, 11:04 AM
No. Only need 1 visible, whole unit moves. It is a psychic shooting power but not for thepurpose of wounding because it doesn't.
As's been said, your friend is entirely wrong. Lash does not allocate wounds--the new wound allocation rules have no bearing on the manner in which it operates.
If you can see (and have range to) one model in the unit, you can cast the power on the unit. If the power goes off successfully, hits, and is not stopped by Deny the Witch, you get to move the entire unit, and you can move it however you want within the distance rolled--even if it moves models that you could see to places you can't see them or models that you couldn't see to places you can see them.
Chaosgerbil
08-20-2012, 12:15 PM
Lash can't move folks through or into impassable terrain, but if the wall was part of a ruin then the default rules count it as difficult, not impassable.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.