PDA

View Full Version : How to paint cloth and banners?

DarthHawke
08-16-2012, 07:57 AM
Alright im having some trouble with this. Im starting on my first sergeant space marine and i cannot seem to get the cloth right. I base coat it with white them go over it with a sepia wash lightly which looks ok. Its not exactly the tan im looking for but im new to painting minis so i just have to deal with it. My main question is how do i get the dark areas in the folds of the cloth and how to expertly paint the banners.

If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

Defenestratus
08-16-2012, 08:20 AM
Alright im having some trouble with this. Im starting on my first sergeant space marine and i cannot seem to get the cloth right. I base coat it with white them go over it with a sepia wash lightly which looks ok. Its not exactly the tan im looking for but im new to painting minis so i just have to deal with it. My main question is how do i get the dark areas in the folds of the cloth and how to expertly paint the banners.

If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

I'm not the best at it but my stuff looks good enough on the table.... (also this should probably go in the hobby subforum)

I do mine by layering...

Start with a dark color, for tan I'd start with a really dark brown. Paint the whole cloth with this color.

Then take a shade lighter, like a desert yellow or a kakhi, then paint the raised areas of the cloth. Leave the recesses as brown.

Then finally take your lightest shade and do another layer on top of that leaving some of the undercoat exposed.

Finally, with a tan I'd hit it with a flesh wash to blend it all together. Below is an example of how mine look on my farseers robes...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-PZP15Bbk0q4/TULQ7n2obaI/AAAAAAAANo8/HNUcH4vrxfE/s400/2011-01-28_09-20-22_754.jpg

DrLove42
08-16-2012, 08:25 AM
I like to use a medium colour for the cloth. Wash it in a dark and then highlight and light highlight the raised surfaces.