View Full Version : Eldar Runes of Warding: are they stacking or not?
Malogharst
08-07-2012, 03:58 AM
The question is very difficult to me as I can't understand from the FAQ how do these work in case of two Farseers (ok, two friendly Farseers, not hostile).
So in the RAW of the FAQ'ed rule for Runes of Warding there is no statement that the effect of the runes cannot be cumulative (up to 4D6), it is written in case of a single Farseer, and it says: "...rolls an extra dice".
So, please help me to clarify this, dear ladies and gentlemen.
DrLove42
08-07-2012, 04:08 AM
No. They don't stack.
Stacking Runes would be ******* sickening.
It might not say they can't be stacked, but it also doesn't say they can
Malogharst
08-07-2012, 04:34 AM
It might not say they can't be stacked, but it also doesn't say they can
But there is the problem. Neither is restricted by the rules or FAQ and so there is no direct answer "yes" or "no". This is why I am deeply confused by the Runes wording.
Learn2Eel
08-07-2012, 04:43 AM
This is a strange one.
It states in the entry for Runes of Warding in the Farseer profile section of the book, page 26;
"All enemy Psychic tests must be taken on 3D6"
The FAQ says;
"All enemy Psykers must roll an extra dice when taking Psychic tests"
I am assuming it was changed, as was Runes of Witnessing, because of the Runes of Witnessing when used against another Eldar player that had Runes of Warding so that players wouldn't have to roll off on which one applied.
Before, it would have been;
Your Farseer casts Fortune and has Runes of Witnessing.
Your opponent's Farseer has Runes of Warding.
Both state 3D6 - do you have to roll an extra one for Runes of Warding or do just keep the Runes of Witnessing rule?
Confusing, I know. Still, I'd imagine that as far as RAI goes they shouldn't stack. As far as RAW goes.....tough, very tough. Do you really think all enemy psychic tests should have to be taken on 4D6 simply because you have two Farseers on the board with a cheap upgrade? There's nothing that says they stack, but there's nothing that says they don't......
Unless someone can provide an adequate ruling that favours either side, I would go with the mentality that they don't stack; if it becomes an issue with an opponent, roll off on it.
Malogharst
08-07-2012, 04:50 AM
I've written to GW's twitter with this issue but nobody replied. Where else can I write this for GW's design team to answer me?
Also I'm quite surprised that nobody mentioned this earlier because two Faseers is not an impossible option for Eldar army.
But is the change in FAQ from "3D6" to "an extra dice" so occasional? Maybe what GW intendet to write is exactly that the Runes effect are cumulative. Because 3D6 is clearly says NO to my question.
Learn2Eel
08-07-2012, 04:57 AM
It is very strange that no one has picked up on this before, I believe this has been in the FAQ since before 6th Edition came out.
I think it was probably changed because of things like Shadow in the Warp and Runes of Warding vs/ Runes of Witnessing. If that is the case, then from a RAI perspective I would say no as well.
Malogharst
08-07-2012, 05:59 AM
By the way, the ETC 2012 Clarifications states that they actually do stack:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3x-iNml9H_TdFhNaEVETVpZQ2M/edit?pli=1
page 10, see 2.14
Tzeentch's Dark Agent
08-07-2012, 06:28 AM
That's not an official Games Workshop document.
Malogharst
08-07-2012, 06:39 AM
That's not an official Games Workshop document.
Of course it is not. In the abscense of an official clarification on a difficult matter i see only one solution - to refer to a one of the largest tournaments in Europe clarification.
Kevlarshark
08-07-2012, 08:08 AM
People were having the very same discussion about multiple Hive tyrants with "Hive commander" FAQ = Do not stack
Or Multiple IG command squads with Astropaths. FAQ = Do not stack
I think the president has been set in many other codex.
The new core rule book in the special rule section states "Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once."
Case closed.
Tzeentch's Dark Agent
08-07-2012, 08:13 AM
Knew that I'd seen it somewhere. Kevlarshark is right, case closed.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.