View Full Version : Mob rule and leadership modifiers
Haddock
07-15-2012, 02:32 PM
I was playing against the guard psycher battle squad and they have the ability to drop your leadership. Mob rules says you can always sub out your leadership for the unit number. Does mob rule get around leadership modifies such as that?
Melon-neko
07-15-2012, 02:57 PM
I was playing against the guard psycher battle squad and they have the ability to drop your leadership. Mob rules says you can always sub out your leadership for the unit number. Does mob rule get around leadership modifies such as that?
Yeah.
If you need to prove, page 2 states the order in which modifiers apply to characteristics. Multipliers, add/subtract, then set values.
Weaken resolve is a subtraction and mob rule is a set value, so mob rule would win out.
thecactusman17
07-15-2012, 03:33 PM
Question: I thought that your leadership increases to ten, then you are fearless? So that a psyker with psychic shriek would still work but at most the ork ld would be ten.
Haddock
07-15-2012, 03:53 PM
so basically what would happen is for purposes of that ability the ork leadership would always be what the unit size is.
thecactusman17
07-15-2012, 04:15 PM
Not quite. The irk ld is never greater than ten. Anything past ten and you are fearless and ld ten.
Mr.Pickelz
07-15-2012, 10:53 PM
Mob Rule states that at anytime you can replace your LD stat with the size of the mob, aka 30 orks = LD. 30, However, as the rulebook states that you can never go above 10 you will always cap out at LD 10. If the mob is 11 or greater, the mob then gets the Fearless USR.
So for your example, the Psyker squad reduces the orks leadership, however when forced to take a test based on that leadership you then enact Mob Rule to replace your modified LD value with a number equal to the size of the Mob.
Wolfshade
07-16-2012, 01:57 AM
Mob Rule states that at anytime you can replace your LD stat with the size of the mob, aka 30 orks = LD. 30, However, as the rulebook states that you can never go above 10 you will always cap out at LD 10. If the mob is 11 or greater, the mob then gets the Fearless USR.
So for your example, the Psyker squad reduces the orks leadership, however when forced to take a test based on that leadership you then enact Mob Rule to replace your modified LD value with a number equal to the size of the Mob.
Codex Rule + explaination, how it interacts with BRB + explaination.
This is how rule questions should be answered.
GrogDaTyrant
07-16-2012, 09:51 AM
Is this a change with the new edition's rules? Because Mob Rule replaced the LD value with the unit's size. And modifiers didn't just 'vanish' afterwords, so a unit of 10 boyz who suffered a -5 modifer to their Ld would be Ld 5, as the order would be Ld 7 (base), replaced to 10 (unit size), with a final modifier of -5.
EnglishInquisition
07-16-2012, 09:57 AM
Is this a change with the new edition's rules? Because Mob Rule replaced the LD value with the unit's size. And modifiers didn't just 'vanish' afterwords, so a unit of 10 boyz who suffered a -5 modifer to their Ld would be Ld 5, as the order would be Ld 7 (base), replaced to 10 (unit size), with a final modifier of -5.
This is how I understand it would work.
Melon-neko
07-16-2012, 10:18 AM
Is this a change with the new edition's rules? Because Mob Rule replaced the LD value with the unit's size. And modifiers didn't just 'vanish' afterwords, so a unit of 10 boyz who suffered a -5 modifer to their Ld would be Ld 5, as the order would be Ld 7 (base), replaced to 10 (unit size), with a final modifier of -5.
That's not how modifiers are placed in 6ht addition. The order is: Multipliers, add/subtract, replace. So value replacement effectively negates negatives.
DarkLink
07-16-2012, 10:33 AM
This isn't a normal modifier. You're not modifying the orks leadership with the Mob rule, you're replacing it.
Psykers target orks. They reduce the Orks leadership to 2. The Orks then, instead of using their leadership of 2, use the completely different value that cannot be influenced of their squad size, equal to however many orks are left. So a mob of 10 Orks can always be Ld 10, no matter what. And it doesn't violate the modifier rules in any way.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.