PDA

View Full Version : anyone using Vallejo paints?

jcroxford
09-28-2009, 02:36 AM
I've been using GW paints exclusively for many years now. But they don't really make a real space wolves color (by this I mean a mid-tone between shadow & space wolves gray). Turns out Vallejo does. They have a color called blue gray which looks about perfect. I'm wondering if anyone else uses these paints and what you think about them?

Exitus Acta Probat
09-28-2009, 02:58 AM
I've been using them for quite a while now, and pretty much use them interchangeably with the GW paint.
They mix and flow well, and apply perfectly fine.
Slight advantage went to them for a long time in some of the weaker GW paints (yellows reds etc) but with foundation paints it's now less pronounced.
I am not as happy with their washes...
I am happy with their 'foundation' equivalents, though I don't find them as consistently well color matched.

jcroxford
09-28-2009, 03:05 AM
Sweet. Well, I'm gonna get the blue gray, and give it a shot.

lobster-overlord
09-28-2009, 06:32 AM
The eye dropper bottles help keep them from drying out over the pots. Plus you get more for your money.

JohnM>

MaidenManiac
09-28-2009, 07:03 AM
The eye dropper bottles help keep them from drying out over the pots. Plus you get more for your money.

JohnM>

This is very much true!

VGC/VMC is 17ml compared to GWs 12ml per pot. Add the detail of more dry-out safety of Vallejo and I personally found myself a winner:)

*tde*
09-28-2009, 08:52 AM
Anyone using the P3 paints from Privateer Press? How are they?

Brass Scorpion
09-28-2009, 10:09 AM