Log in

View Full Version : Embarked Units Measurements



s_harrington
07-06-2012, 03:52 AM
In 5th edition, there was a rule that stated that measurements for abilities and such from embarked units was from the hull of the transport.

I can't find it in 6th edition.

Can anyone help me?

This came up when dude put a strike squad in a Bastion and cast Warp Quake.

Thanatos_elNyx
07-06-2012, 04:28 AM
I believe powers used within a transport can only affect the user, the unit(if any) and the vehicle.
But I don't have book with me so I may be mistaken.

addamsfamily36
07-06-2012, 04:37 AM
bastion is terrain surely?

Captainparty
07-06-2012, 05:43 AM
bastion is terrain surely?

Being inside a building, you follow the rules for being inside a vehicle, if you're on the Battlements, you use the standard line of sight rules, you can only target the unit inside the vehicle with psychic powers.

rle68
07-06-2012, 08:07 AM
Being inside a building, you follow the rules for being inside a vehicle, if you're on the Battlements, you use the standard line of sight rules, you can only target the unit inside the vehicle with psychic powers.

if the building has fire points as a vehicle then it can be fired out of or psychic shooting powers can be used
anything that requires line of site would need a fire point

xilton
07-06-2012, 08:28 AM
You usually measure from the firepoint you're shooting or using your power from and not the hull.

s_harrington
07-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Sorry, I should have explained it better.

In this particular scenario, the power has a valid target. The unit targets itself with Warpquake.
Warpquake gives the unit a 12" radius bubble that mishaps deepstrikers. It does not target those deepstrikers, nor does it need line of sight. It is not a shooting attack.

So, if the unit is embarked in anything, be it a fortification,a Land Raider, or even a Chimera, where do I measure from, or can I measure from?

xilton
07-06-2012, 11:07 AM
hmm good question. I didn't read much of the new psychic rules but can we even have the effect of a psychic power outside a vehicle making this power useless if you are not on foot? A bit like the BA shield (5+ cover) at 6". As an example, since the psychic hood doesn't effect outside a vehicle anymore, why would these still be able to.

DarkLink
07-06-2012, 11:36 AM
Forget how it worked in 5th ed. If there's nothing that lets you extend the range of the effects of psychic powers outside the vehicle, then you can't use it. I'm pretty sure they removed that rule, so no hiding inside while casting warp quake or using a psychic hood anymore.

s_harrington
07-06-2012, 11:41 AM
Forget how it worked in 5th ed. If there's nothing that lets you extend the range of the effects of psychic powers outside the vehicle, then you can't use it. I'm pretty sure they removed that rule, so no hiding inside while casting warp quake or using a psychic hood anymore.

That's the OP question, "can anyone help me find this?"

If it can't be found, then the rule is gone and can't be used.