PDA

View Full Version : Space Marine physiology

Deltagreen
06-02-2012, 09:05 AM
Hello all,

Forgive me for posting this here, I am new to the BoLS forums but I was wondering if you could answer me a question (if it has already been previously answered please could you direct me to the relevant thread).

My question is this:

Given that Space Marine scouts are initiates, neophytes or whatever their chapter refers to them as, what are the pysiological differences between them and their full blown battle brothers?. I appreciate that they have not had all the implants, etc., therefore, what is missing? Can anyone advise?

Many thanks,

Deltagreen

:confused:

Rev. Tiberius Jackhammer
06-02-2012, 10:06 AM
In many cases they lack the under-skin implant the Black Carapace, which allows a Space Marine to interface with his Power Armour. Space Wolves give their recruits all implants immediately, though.

It's sometimes implied that they're missing other implants - judging by their S4/T4, though, they definitely have Stage 5 and earlier implants (http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Creation_of_a_Space_Marine#.T8o6zD5YshB).

And this is totally the right place to post a question like this, don't worry!

Black Hydra
06-02-2012, 10:35 AM
Actually they do have the Black Carapace. It just hasn't developed enough to be able to interface with power armor yet. Space Wolves have scouts but for some reason they are actually veterans and not initiates since they are elites. Black Templar just don't care for subtlety and put PA on their initiates. Honestly I think that's a funny but efficient approach. They are arguably one of the most successful chapters after all, Matt Ward's opinion on them not withstanding.

Kawauso
06-02-2012, 12:33 PM
Black Templar just don't care for subtlety and put PA on their initiates..