PDA

View Full Version : 40k is broken- what I hope to see in 6th edition

fellclaw01
05-26-2012, 09:04 AM
I've been playing 40k for over 20 years -starting at 2nd edition and it always has been my favorite wargame. I remember how fun the first game I played with was (with just the starter set stuff and a rhino for an objective) and how once we started to get large armies the game was filled with special rules and units it didn't seem so fun anymore

...then third edition came out and special rules went away and we had hordes of basic troops and tanks and the game was fun again.... It felt like war. Now several editions later the details came back and I'm starting to get bored again. What really highlighted it to me is going to my new local gaming store after playing a few games after a few years of playing in a small war gaming group with similar tastes

Not to criticize the guys but the armies I came up against we're woefully boring, not because of the lack of painting, rantpant proxying but because of their composition ie one was a scarab farm with 10 troops at 1250. I don't blame the players they want to win and are affective a picking some awesome wargear combinations and tactics to boot- I blame the game

I think this comes to the heart of the fluff bunnies v the competitive gamers issue. Fault lies with neither side, I feel the responsibility lies with the games developers- their lack of play testing , focus, codex creep, whatever means for an army to be effective for example Necrons you have to take advantage of specail rules etc, it is the game developers responsibility to deliver a balanced system that doesn't have half the victory achieved via the list development. I also don't buy the attitude -it's not designed for compeditive play- read we can't be bothered getting it right and we need codex creep to sell miniatures