PDA

View Full Version : How many Rhino chassis in a 1500 point army?

Jebusiah Long
05-07-2012, 01:19 AM
I just started playing again and I find myself with seven rhino chassis. Three Predators, three Rhinos and a Razorback. I'm going crazy with magnets and don't mind buying bits.

Is there a competitive way to field this many rhino-based vehicles at 1500 points?

Dalleron
05-07-2012, 01:25 AM
If the preds were vindicators maybe you could with any marine army.

But you could probably pull of a decent Blood Angel list with their fast predators being able to move and fire more than everyone elses, because they're Blood Angels.

Gir
05-07-2012, 01:33 AM
I've won a tournament running 9 in 1500pts with Blood Angels (2 auto/la preds, 1 auto/heavy bolter pred, 1 flamerstorm baal, 1 flamestrom+heavy flamer baal, 1 dakka baal, 3 las/pas razorbacks, and a furioso to top it all off).

Jebusiah Long
05-07-2012, 08:43 AM
Thanks much.

How do I add drop pods to the mix?

Or is that just too many points spent on vehicles/transport?

thecactusman17
05-07-2012, 08:56 AM
Which codex are you playing?

In Blood Angels or Space Wolves, there's a good argument to be made for "as many as you have marine units." In Black Templars, "Fill any Heavy Support slots not taken by Land Raiders, then 1-2 more max." In Space Marines: "Some, but no more than your troops total." In Sisters of Battle: "One for every unit without a jump pack." Dark Angels: "Probably none." Grey Knights: Depends 100% on list construction.

Each codex has very different and effective Rhino variants, with a variety of costs and abilities and gear. Above, for example, I recommend taking lots of Rhino chassis for Wolves and Blood Angels, but the types I would take are wildly different owing to the capabilities of the Blood Angels vehicles. Sisters of Battle aren't Marines, per say, but they have some critical yet subtle differences in how their vehicles work on the field and what they do for your army.

Jebusiah Long