Wildcard
05-05-2012, 06:54 PM
So, as the title says. On page 62 on the rulebook under the "Vechiles and cover - obscured targets" it's stated that it may rarely happen that the firer cannot see any part of the facing they are in (front, side or rear), but they can still see another facing on the target vehicle.. blah blah.. but to represent such an extremely angled shot, the vehicle receives a 3+ cover save...
Now, i know its really clearly stated there what it means, but my problem is more that how to determine the facing, and if the shot is going to be "extremely angled shot"..
I know theres a guideline to think of a X from corner to corner of a vehicle (and to determine facing just to increase the length of X up till the firers position).
We have never encountered this situation (atleast we have had known we've faced it). So its a bit confusing.
Does this mean that if enemy unit fires at a stormraven(or any other flyer) from the front and targets its wings, the flyer would get its 3+ save due to the wings being on the side arc of the imaginary X?
Other situation is that if two equal size tanks with sponsons would be head to head (due to ramming or any other insignificant manouvre). Now, their sponsons can only draw line of sight to the side arcs, even with the tank itself clearly being in the front arc. Again a place for the 3+ cover save?
I am looking examples to clarify this more than anything else, yet if you feel you can contribute by some other means, feel free to try and help me out :)
-Wildcard
Now, i know its really clearly stated there what it means, but my problem is more that how to determine the facing, and if the shot is going to be "extremely angled shot"..
I know theres a guideline to think of a X from corner to corner of a vehicle (and to determine facing just to increase the length of X up till the firers position).
We have never encountered this situation (atleast we have had known we've faced it). So its a bit confusing.
Does this mean that if enemy unit fires at a stormraven(or any other flyer) from the front and targets its wings, the flyer would get its 3+ save due to the wings being on the side arc of the imaginary X?
Other situation is that if two equal size tanks with sponsons would be head to head (due to ramming or any other insignificant manouvre). Now, their sponsons can only draw line of sight to the side arcs, even with the tank itself clearly being in the front arc. Again a place for the 3+ cover save?
I am looking examples to clarify this more than anything else, yet if you feel you can contribute by some other means, feel free to try and help me out :)
-Wildcard