PDA

View Full Version : FAQs - rules etc.



corydorasj
04-26-2012, 01:53 PM
I have a few questions regarding the new necron codex, and wonder whether this is the best place to find answers, or whether a proper GW FAQ would do the job. The thing being... how do I pose the question to GW to get it answered?
Faiing that ... the Monolith... to teleport a unit at the start of the movement turn the unit count as if the vehicle had moved. Does that mean the monolith counts as having moved? ie enemy models assaulting the monolith can only hit on a 4+ rather than automatically?
Or, can the monolith still make a move after the unit has "disembarked"

this is my first post, so please be gentle.
cheers

Nachodragon
04-26-2012, 01:59 PM
This has nothing to do with the Monolith and everything to do with the unit being 'phased'. When they go through the gate they would be unable to fire heavy weapons (not a problem for Necrons) and can only use rapid fire weapons in rapid fire range, they can also not move any farther this turn.

Since this movement is at the beginning of the movement phase the Monolith has not moved yet and could then move. Though, you need to be careful of the placement of the unit that came through as this could hamper the Monolith moving.

SeattleDV8
04-26-2012, 04:28 PM
I agree, the restriction is on the teleporting unit, it can't move further, assault and affects it's weapon fire.

The Monolith is uneffected.

DarkLink
04-26-2012, 04:33 PM
As to the best way to resolve rule issues: first, look over the rules, including the FAQs. Read stuff thoroughly, and you should be able to find an answer yourself. If that doesn't work, ask on a forum, like here, and you can probably get an answer.

If the question is still unclear, you can email GW, but don't expect a quality answer. The guys who write the rules aren't the ones who answer the emails, nor does GW keep pace with its FAQs. Sometimes you just have to agree on something with your opponent to make the game work.

Necron_Lord
04-26-2012, 07:15 PM
I agree with what has been said by the others. The only thing I might add is that the unit teleported by the Monolith can run in the shooting phase, i.e. they can move but must forgo shooting to do so.

corydorasj
04-29-2012, 09:40 AM
cheers all. more rules questions to follow....

Can Necron Reserves Deep Strike in, in the opponents turn, with Zahndrekh's rule, even if no enemy units DS in?

Am I right in thinking that Everliving models attached to a unit get no Reanimation Protocol roll if they are wiped out along with their squad ? ie because they cannot be placed in coherency with the squad (because it's been wiped out) they "cannot be placed".

again, cheers in anticipation.

SeattleDV8
04-29-2012, 02:39 PM
The rule keys on an enemy arriving from reserve, not Deep Striking.

Necron FAQ
Q: If an entire unit, including an attached character
from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make
any Reanimation Protocol rolls? (p29)
A: You would only get to make one roll for the
attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule.
Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of
the counter as his unit has been wiped out.