PDA

View Full Version : Good afternoon from Texas!

Shas'O Vior'la M'yenshi
04-13-2012, 12:23 PM
Hey all,

A bit about myself.

I'm 23, going to ITT Tech for electronics.

I love the universe, lore, races, and everything else about Warhammer 40K.
I'm currently building a Tau army.

I first experienced Warhammer 40K through the original Dawn of War on PC. Since then I've been 100% hooked on everything about it. When Dawn of War: Dark Crusade came out, I was introduced to the Tau Empire and absolutely loved it. That's when I figured out there was a whole tabletop game that Dawn of War was based on.

Anywho. I'm new to painting in general, and I'm still learning new techniques and stuff to learn how to paint better. Any advice is much appreciated.

About a month or two ago I struck gold when a woman on Craigslist was selling some minis she had no idea what to do with. I inquired and found out that she had a pretty good sized Tau army. She generously offered all of them to me for $65. I was ecstatic, and I told her how much these go for, she insisted that I take them for that much. So I did, came with foam and a hard case too.

So I am now in possetion of 1 Ethereal, 9 Crisis Battle Suits, 6 Steath Suits, 10 Pathfinders, 12 Kroot Carnivors, 1 Sniper Drone squad, I think approximately 69+ Fire Warriors, 1 Piranha, and countless Shield and Gun Drones.

They are all primered now. The Fire Warrior squads I had before I got the rest from the woman are mostly painted.

My biggest issue is, I have nobody to play with. I've never played a single game before and I don't know where I should start. None of my friends are interested in Warhammer 40K, or table top games for that matter. And none of them can really afford it either.