PDA

View Full Version : What is the best Warboss/HQ

wingedman1
03-10-2012, 01:44 PM
I'm just learning 40k and I love orks...but I need some advice what HQ is best for which style of play. I like the funkier aspects of orks more than the greentide. Advice?

Lord Severus
03-10-2012, 02:21 PM
Ghaskull is always a good choice. He is a just a beatstick and a tough one to get rid off. Attaching him to snikrots commandos and letting him run loose in a backfield is never fun to deal with

Also a biker boss can do most of the same as ghas, but for cheaper. Isnt as good overall, but still a beast.

You should almost always take one KFF mek no matter the list.

MaltonNecromancer
03-10-2012, 04:46 PM
I've been having a lot of fun with a Deff Dred list. Not won a bloody thing, but I couldn't care less because the list's a great laugh to play; lots of big scary walkers and quite a few smaller ones too.

Killa Kans are well worth your time. The models are relatively inexpensive, and they just look fantastic, plus they're relatively good with the shooting too (especially if you go up against light infantry and can make decent use of the Grotzooka).

DarkLink
03-10-2012, 05:12 PM
Ghasgull and a Big Mek with a Kustom Force Field, end of story for every Ork army like, ever.

KFFs are basically the most annoying thing in the entire game, especially if you take a bunch of Battlewagons.

marsdonut
03-10-2012, 08:05 PM
I think you should play with a weirdboy for a while. Afterwards start aiming your HQ needs to the base of your army. (Mind you, if you play with a weirdboy, attach a footslogging unit of shootas to him, so in case you teleport, 18" away from your target ain't so bad.)

Meks make vehicles great, Bosses make any troop great, and Weirdboys are pure random. Zogswart could probably squig Ghazghull, but Ghaz is the best for a lot of boys in a horde.

My next purchase is a big mek, who in all honesty is mostly a safe, defensive HQ choice.

orksforthewin
03-10-2012, 09:07 PM