PDA

View Full Version : Deepstriking gaunts

Joey Boor
07-31-2009, 02:52 PM
My problem is that the other night I was playing Planetstrike with my usual group when the Tyranid player that was assaulting me got the idea that her gaunts with the without number rule could deepstrike even when her codex specifically states that they walk on from her table edge. So the question is, who is right? If anyone is interested the game ended up tied because of these gaunts.

Andrew283
07-31-2009, 03:03 PM
They can't deepstrike after being killed as it doesnt state that they can. Thats a weird rule but roll a 4+ to decide on whos correct for fairness

mkerr
07-31-2009, 03:14 PM
@Joey Boor: As a rules lawyer, I'm going to get jumped on for my answer, but the best solution for Planetstrike (like Apocalypse) is always the one that is the coolest and most exciting result.

So if deepstriking the gaunts would've made the game more fun and exciting for both players, then they need to deepstrike. If the nasty 'nids were already crushing you and more pressure wouldn't help, then they should probably come on from their board side.

Don't worry too much about consistency or correctness in Planetstrike. It wasn't designed with balance in mind, so you'll need to "self-correct for fun" as the game goes on.

I hope it was fun and I'd love to hear more about the game (especially any Planetstrike games!).

-- Mkerr

SeattleDV8
07-31-2009, 03:56 PM
The Shock Tactics special rule does say the attacker can alway deploy his units by deep strike (with some exceptions).

Joey Boor
07-31-2009, 05:33 PM