View Full Version : am i missing something
dannyat2460
02-06-2012, 07:12 PM
Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and
then put a combat squad in it, deploying the other
combat squad on the table, or leave it in reserve but
not in the Drop Pod? (p32)
A: No, because squads that are placed in reserve may
not break down into combat squads.
Q: When a unit of 10 Space Marines with the Combat
Squad special rule arrives from reserve as two combat
squads, can they move on from, or Deep Strike onto,
two different locations? (p23)
A: Yes.
it maybe lack of sleep but am i correct in reading that these contradict
flekkzo
02-06-2012, 07:21 PM
Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and
then put a combat squad in it, deploying the other
combat squad on the table, or leave it in reserve but
not in the Drop Pod? (p32)
A: No, because squads that are placed in reserve may
not break down into combat squads.
Q: When a unit of 10 Space Marines with the Combat
Squad special rule arrives from reserve as two combat
squads, can they move on from, or Deep Strike onto,
two different locations? (p23)
A: Yes.
it maybe lack of sleep but am i correct in reading that these contradict
My guess is that there is a difference between being *in* reserve and arriving from it. Can't combat squad until arriving.
Or something along those lines :)
gcsmith
02-06-2012, 07:21 PM
What its basically saying is half a unit cannot be placed in reserved which is effectively what question 1 asks.
Tynskel
02-06-2012, 08:09 PM
combat squads is enacted the moment the unit is deployed to the board. That is what the FAQ has declared. So, while in reserves, the unit is 10 men. However, the moment the unit is deploying to the board, the Sgt may declare to split the unit.
For example, a devastator squad walks onto the board, the unit may come on as 2 separate units or one large unit.
Ex. Assault Squad deep strikes: either as 1 unit, or as 2 units.
The Drop Pod is the exception to this rule: the unit has already entered the board, via the drop pod. But combat squads states the unit may split the moment they deploy from the droppod.
hisdudeness
02-07-2012, 06:09 AM
You guys are doing it wrong.
You declare Combat Squad at deployment, EXCEPT for Drop Pods.
Example:
I am declaring my assault squad is going to Combat Squad and Deep Strike- That's their deployment. Now you have 2 separate squads, and you make a roll for each one.
I am declaring combat squads for my assault squad, 1 will start on the board, the other in reserve.
I am declaring combat squads for my assault squad, 1 will start on the board, the other will deep strike.
I am declaring combat squads for my Scouts- one will start on the board according to the rules of Infiltrate, the other will be mounted in the Land Speeder Storm. The Storm is deploying by Outflank.
I am declaring Combat Squads for my Terminators. One squad will be mounted in their dedicated transport: Land Raider, and the other squad will Teleport Deep Strike. The Land Raider will start on the board.
ect. ect. ect.
The ONLY time you make one reserve roll for a squad, THEN combat squad later, is for the Drop Pod.
Ex:
I deploy my Tactical Squad inside the Drop Pod. (I did NOT announce my intention to Combat Squad.) I roll 1 reserves roll, the Drop Pod comes in- after Scattering has been completed, the doors open, squad disembarks. I now declare Combat Squads.
Lastly: Dawn of War deployment
You declare Combat squads, Place 5 Marines in the Dedicated Transport on the board (2 units), keep the other 5 off the board.
You declare ALL of the deployments of squads before placing models on the board: Outflank, Combat Squads, Infiltrate, Deep Strike, Reserves, and Dawn of War specialty placement.
4/13/2010, post 8, "Deep striking combat squads" (http://www.lounge.belloflostsouls.net/showthread.php?t=6439)
:eek::eek: OH MY GOD Tynskel!!! Did you finally see the light!!!!! Sorry, I couldn't resist...
Tynskel
02-07-2012, 04:59 PM
No, I don't see the light.
I don't like the FAQ. However, since there is a FAQ, I am not going to say I won't play with it.
Just like I still use the Tyranid FAQ, even though through multiple iterations, it still blows.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.