PDA

View Full Version : Getting Started

Forrix
01-31-2012, 12:46 PM
Hello I have been playing 40k on and off for a couple years now and i really enjoy the gaming and modeling but im looking to add some variety. So I started looking at warmahordes stuff and I am thinking of starting a smallish skirmish level army but i have a few question. The main question is how does this differ from 40k and if anyone has played both what it is they like about the different game style. Also if anyone has any recomendations on factions or cheap ways to get started id love to hear them

pauljc
02-01-2012, 03:45 AM
I would say that the core foundations of the game system are quite different to GW's games. 40K is technically a skirmish game, but apart from the shared basics of wargaming (dudesmen, dice, etc), it has a much different playstyle and feel.

Now, of course this is based on my own experiences with the game, but here are a few factors about the Warmahordes games that I really enjoyed:

*Dynamism - Warmahordes are very fluid, dynamic games. Lots of back and forth, swirling melees, last turn epicness.

*Individuality - because each unit, warjack, beast and solo has it's own special rules and abilities on the card, I find that the game has a lot more to do with getting right down to individual model's effectiveness. I can't actually think of the right way to explain this, but consider that I know a lot of Magic tcg players that also play Warmahordes, because building a battlegroup can be just as complex and rewarding as building a Magic deck. Due to unit individuality, you can build some truly wacky lists, and still be hugely effective on the battlefield!