PDA

View Full Version : Wife logic

Bedroom General
12-27-2011, 06:49 PM
Good day to you all.
Yesterday my wife and I went to the local shopping centre/megaplex to see a movie. Afterwards we were walking past the GW store and I decided to have a look inside. (I usually go to my fLGS 'cos of 10% discount, but it can take a while for orders to come in, and I want to use my holiday time painting'n playing not waiting.)
So long and short of it, I bought the Annihilation\command barge and the Praetorian\lychguard boxes. In Australia this cost me $110.00 all up.
Now Jo (my wife) is a supporter of my playing the game, as she knows and likes all the people that I play against, sees the work and effort I put into painting and making the game board look as good as possible, though she'll pay out my colour scheme choices. "Not enough colour contrast" she'll say. "I'm using a muted scheme" I riposte lightly. I'm an art teacher, Jo's a graphic designer, so I can just about survive the criticism with shreds of ego intact ;)
Anyway, I am tooling around and opening the boxes, Jo comes in and looks at the stuff.
she looks at the three sprues I got in the Praetorian box and said the immortal words "Is that it? That plastic must cost what, 8 cents?"
I explain the process of tooling the moulds and the amazing detail, then realise that I sound like a GW salesperson, I'm trying to justify why I'm ripping myself off!
I also remembered that the Monolith kit I looked at in the shop was $110.00, which made me not get it, as
A: I've got one that I bought in Ze Gut Alte Tagen for $60.00
B: For the same money I got two newer kits with interchangeability.