PDA

View Full Version : Three Necron questions



Bedroom General
11-26-2011, 12:23 AM
Well, bought the new 'dex, dusted off my Necrons, Did up a list with my existing models. 1994 pts.
On reading the codex I have three questions.
Warning..these may be stupid, humour me.

Ok, firstly regarding the Monoliths eternity gate. Rules say that when used as a dimensional corridor you can take any non vehicle unit from reserve or anywhere on the field. This would seem to include units such as Scarabs and Destroyers, bikes is this correct? (seems a no-brainer, but I want to be sure).

Secondly, a sort of chicken and egg one. If spyders creating scarabs and monolith dimensional corridor both happen at the start of the movement phase, can you create scarabs for a unit before it is taken through the corridor? Similarly can you port spyders through and then spawn scarabs for a unit when they arrive?

Thirdly, is it possible to use the corridor after arriving from deep strike?

Ta

AbusePuppy
11-26-2011, 04:05 AM
Yes, the Eternity Gate works on anything except vehicles. C'tan, Destroyers, Scarabs, Spyders, anything.

Two and three are sorta the same question, and unfortunately the answer is "nobody really knows." There's lots of ongoing arguments about the subject, but the long and short of it is that while such rules issues have existed for quite some time, GW has never given us a clear answer on the subject, so you'll have to look to your local tournament organizer (or come up with a consensus answer for casual play) to decide.

The Twilight Fade
11-26-2011, 06:01 AM
In regards to your second question I can't see any reason why you can't choose the order that it happens, since both happen at the beginning of the movement phase I can't see why they would have to happen at the same time and you not get priority to choose, this may get FAQ'd but i'd argue in its favour.

The last question i'm not sure about, it's similar the the GK librarian deepstrike/the summoning question that was raised some time ago and if that got FAQ'd maybe the answer is the same, if not it may need to be houseruled

DrLove42
11-26-2011, 06:04 AM
We've always taken the view of there being a seperate "reserve" phase before movement. Otherwise the first unit that comes on from reserved would suggest that its not the beginning of movement anymore, so no more could come on.

This would suggest that yes you could spawn after coming on via eternity gate. But you can't spawn off board, then come through (mostly because if a unit is not on the table it can't do anything - you could have a situation where a spyder doesn't deploy and just spits scarabs onto the battleifeld every turn.

Bedroom General
11-26-2011, 07:15 AM
Dr42 I was thinking more of moving spyders and scarabs that were already on the table. It would be extremely cheeky to spawn after being brought on from reserve.

Tynskel
11-26-2011, 07:46 AM
Yeah, if you have deep strike, you now count as have moved- clearly you cannot spawn more scarabs at that point. Thats the same for the gate, when you think about it. You count as disembarking, and therefore have moved. The creation of scarabs, though does not count as moving.

Bedroom General
11-26-2011, 08:28 AM
I take your point, no spawning after corridor as you are treated as disembarking, therefore moving. Could still create more scarabs before they (or spyders) were moved through the corridor.

The Twilight Fade
11-26-2011, 02:16 PM
I take your point, no spawning after corridor as you are treated as disembarking, therefore moving. Could still create more scarabs before they (or spyders) were moved through the corridor.

That seems to be the best way to go about it

AbusePuppy
11-27-2011, 05:08 AM
We've always taken the view of there being a seperate "reserve" phase before movement. Otherwise the first unit that comes on from reserved would suggest that its not the beginning of movement anymore, so no more could come on.

This would suggest that yes you could spawn after coming on via eternity gate. But you can't spawn off board, then come through (mostly because if a unit is not on the table it can't do anything - you could have a situation where a spyder doesn't deploy and just spits scarabs onto the battleifeld every turn.

That directly contradicts what the rulebook states- all reserves are rolled for simultaneously at the beginning of the movement and then, before anything else moves, successful units come onto the board one at a time just as though they were moving normally (or DSing, etc.) It's just an alteration to the normal sequence of movement that requires you to move certain units before any others.