PDA

View Full Version : Necron Dispersion Sheild Questions



Blaznak
11-04-2011, 08:40 PM
I'm liking the new codex overall, but reading the Lychguard, I had questions on Dispersion Shield.
1) If save is made, an unegaged enemy gets allocated a hit. Does that enemy get cover? Can it go to ground? Etc. etc.
2) I get that template and blast weapons are not repositioned, but I still think those hits get reallocated. Here's the question: Is the save the same? A Template does NOT give cover. So... if the template causes a hit, and its reallocated against a unit in cover, and (see 1) the unit gets a cover save, does it NOT get a cover save because its from a template, although reallocated?

My thoughts:
1) I think cover applies - there's no "RAW" or "RAI" information in the description, but it follows gamewise the deflected shot "goes through" stuff so there would be cover. I don't think a unit could go to ground against it, because its no longer a shooting attack, its just an allocated hit. Dunno. My logic circuits are burning out.
2) I think the unit probably gets cover at the shileld changes it from a template hit to just a hit.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Necron_Lord
11-05-2011, 01:16 PM
Regarding template and blast attacks, I have to disagree and say that they do NOT get reflected by the shields. Mortar rounds and flame thrower attacks they can't deflect, but bolter rounds, lascannon shots, melta shots, etc. can because they are 'focused'.

Regarding cover saves, I would think 'yes', the enemy can get cover saves. But bear in mind, if the enemy is within 6" in its own shooting phase, the chance of them being in cover themselves is pretty slim. If the Lychguard are in cover and within 2" of the edge of area terrain, the enemy unit would not get cover saves from the terrain. Regarding going to ground, I would think that they could, but they would be 'pinned' until the end of their following turn so I don't know if it would be such a good idea. ;P

Multigeneral
11-05-2011, 02:00 PM
Well the item decription in the codex says the template hits DO get deflected so no argument there. I believe that all hits would probrably just get treated as regular shooting hits. (There's no information either way but we assume the damaging energy/projectiles/whatever are being channeled away and flung back at the enemy by some form of arcane tech, not just a chance ricochet.) Having said that, as for cover and going to ground I don't see why you wouldn't be able to, they are hits from shooting in the shooting phase. I can't see going to ground being terribly useful. If you are already within 6 inches of a unit of Lychguard your pretty much dead anyway. They're going to assault you not shoot you. And if you haven't shot yet you wouldn't be able to after you went to ground thus sealing your own fate.

Necron_Lord
11-05-2011, 03:46 PM
My bad. Having reread the rule I guess all the shots DO get relfected (if they make their save that is and there is an unengaged unit within 6"). I guess the last sentence just means that because the shot is deflected, the template or blast marker used in the attack stays where it is at. Therefore, cover saves could be taken against a deflected template attack.

Blaznak
11-05-2011, 03:50 PM
Werll, that's the way I'm leaning.

I think anything gets deflected gets deflected as a new type of attack. That attack is straight up S and AP of deflected attack. Targetted unit gets cover.