PDA

View Full Version : Why bother with Sixth Edition?

Staxer
10-20-2011, 09:51 AM
With all these rumours of the impeding sixth Edition release for 40K I have my doubts if I will actually buy it.

The reasons being cost and sticking to what I know despite its flaws.

If GW actually reduced the price of the rules from £35 to £15 would that not encourage most people including me to buy it.

If the rules they actually released worked correctly from the outset and not a radical change from the current rules. Warhammer Fantasy is very intimidating to learn when presented with such a huge rule book.

What do you think?

theHman
10-20-2011, 12:44 PM
I think you should play a better game like warmachine.

40k's rules are bunk and always will be.
I should know, I started playing with Rogue trader and have watched GW over the last 20 years screw up their rule set time and time again.

Mr.Pickelz
10-20-2011, 12:55 PM
When 6th ed does get released, their probably going to do something similar to 8th ed. fantasy, with the limited editions and such. I don't think they would do as many utensils as they had for fantasy, like the dice/fold out ruler/markers/etc... but if they were to make 40k dice, I'd probably pick up some. ;)

Hive Mind
10-20-2011, 12:55 PM
40k's rules are fine. The problem is that a lot of people suffer from terrible reading comprehension and can't follow a logical thought process. They get confused about the rules and rather than recognising some internal deficiency, they externalise the problem (as is human nature) and blame the rules being "badly written".

All that said, I probably won't bother with 6th Ed. either. I can already tell it's just going to be a marketing tool to sell flyers.

Wildeybeast
10-20-2011, 02:33 PM
If GW actually reduced the price of the rules from £35 to £15 would that not encourage most people including me to buy it.