PDA

View Full Version : Green Stuff for beginners

Grailkeeper
10-05-2011, 12:08 PM
I recently ordered the german officer mini on this page http://www.studiominiatures.com/Shop/Germans.html which I intend to convert into a commissar by adding a greenstuff sash. I have never used green stuff before and I was wondering if any of you have advice for a beginner on working with green stuff? I imagine a sash would be relatively simple in comparison to some stuff I've seen online.

One thing I should point out is that I won't be buying any tools to work green stuff- as I am unlikely to be doing any other converting with it for the forseeable future- I only need one model and I don't have much time for painting modelling and gaming.

Edit: IF you know how to do simple epualettes please let me know. They'll probably be harder to do.

Edit Edit: Found a tutorial on simple epualettes on Col Gravis Website. His work is great! http://colgravis.blogspot.com/search?q=tutorial&updated-max=2008-07-05T13%3A17%3A00%2B01%3A00&max-results=20

UrielVentris
10-05-2011, 01:03 PM
Cool model! Their 'characters' are really well done, I'm surprised that no one has contacted them about the 'likeness' issues.

Those shoulder boards look good, it'll depend on how you want to do them. What's the theme for the guard army?

Cursed13
10-05-2011, 01:07 PM
The best advice I can think of for beginning sculptors is to just not buy greenstuff. Avoid it like the plague. Get some greystuff instead, much more forgiving and much easier to work with. It's not as much of a sticky mess as greenstuff can get if you don't remember to use enough water while working.
Greystuff can also be mixed in different proportions of black and white putty to give different results, like more organic or more mechanical. It also dries much quicker.
Also, having a rubber tipped brush is a major boon. Sculpting tools help, but a rubber tipped brush will save a lot of grief.