PDA

View Full Version : Imperial Guard list 1999

ferret cat
08-22-2011, 10:04 AM
Hi, I’m a long time hobbyist but have never written an army list; so I was hoping for your thoughts on this one.
HQ
Company Command (10): Power fist, Plasma x2, lascannon, full advisors, body guards
Primaris Psyker (1)
Elite
Psyker Battle Squad (6): additional Psyker
Ogryn (5): 2 additional Ogryn
Troop
Platoon
Command (5): Bolt pistol, plasma gun, Lascannon
Infantry Squad (10): plasma gun, lascannon
Infantry Squad (10): plasma gun, lascannon
Heavy weapons Squad (6): lascannon x3
Heavy weapons Squad (6): lascannon x3
Platoon
Command (5): Bolt pistol, plasma gun, Lascannon
Infantry Squad (11): plasma gun, commissar
Special weapons Squad (6): Flamers x3
Special weapons Squad (6): Grenade Launchers x3
Heavy Support
Demolisher: heavy flamer, extra armour
Manticore
Manticore

Thanks for your help.

entendre_entendre
08-24-2011, 10:01 PM
WALL OF TEXT INCOMING!

Things I would take out:

1. Full advisors never pay off. The Master of Ordnance almost never hits, making it a poor competitive choice, but can be something to use in a fun game between friends. The Astropath doesn't do anything for your lists as you have nothing in reserve or outflanking, so he needs to go unless you add some units that are going to be in reserve almost all the time. Master of the Fleet can be useful depending on your local players and what they bring to the table, I say leave it in any DS'ing GK lists will be a bit more easy to deal with if they show up one at a time from reserve.

2. Ogryn are fun, but overcosted. Use them if you want, but they will rarely make their points back unless you're going to use them as a speed bump for enemy assaulters, in which case, you'd want to put them in a Chimera so they can go where you need them to.