PDA

View Full Version : Servo Skulls and deploying vs. moving



Commander Vimes
07-08-2011, 08:20 PM
Does deploying within 6 inches of a servo skull count as moving for the purposes of destroying it? The situation is a Grey Knight player wins the roll and deploys first, and lines the enemy deployment with servo skulls 12.1" onto the board (for a pitched battle). Does the opponent pop the skulls if he deploys within 6"? Or is he stuck taking extremely accurate template fire for at least the first turn?

DarkLink
07-09-2011, 12:23 AM
The GK codex specifies "moves within 6" ", so I would have to say that just starting within 6" might not be enough, though the skull would evaporate the second the unit within 6" got to move. I guess it's lucky that GKs don't have very many blast weapons (remember, Orbital Strike Relays don't benefit from servo skulls).

s_harrington
07-09-2011, 01:57 AM
Grey Knight FAQ 1.0

Q: Does an enemy unit arriving by deep strike or
deploying within 6" of a servo-skull count as moving
to within 6" of it? (p62)
A: Yes, remove the servo-skull from play.

DarkLink
07-09-2011, 05:28 PM
There you go. Goes to show that first thing you do when you have a question is go back over the rules and the FAQ.

Commander Vimes
07-09-2011, 06:33 PM
Heh, I even checked the FAQ first and missed that. Don't know how, thanks.