Log in

View Full Version : Venatarri Maniple Question



gwensdad
05-20-2011, 12:56 PM
I'm thinking of putting this formation together (need to scratchbuild another Warhound) and one of the special rules allows Reavers to re-roll misses. The question is that all but 1 titan weapon Reavers make use of use blasts or templates. Am I missing something about this or is it just not a very worthwhile bonus?

Nabterayl
05-20-2011, 01:27 PM
Well ... yes and no. If you wanted to get really literal about it, we only have rules for blast weapons to re-roll rolls to hit (c.f. page 90 of the main rules). However, I think it's fair to say that when the rulebook says "the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit" it means the same thing as "the ability to re-roll misses," since one (generally) doesn't want to re-roll hits.

But how can we prove what a "miss" is with respect to a blast marker, you ask? C.f. page 94 again: "If the target is in range ... it's going to be very hard to miss completely .... if the scatter dice rolls a hit symbol the shot lands on target." In other words, not rolling a hit symbol indicates a "miss" - not a "complete miss," but even an incomplete miss is a species of miss.

In the spirit of Apocalypse I think it's pretty clear that The Hunters and the Hounds means that Reaver weapons can re-roll hits against enemy SHWs and GCs if they've already been hit by a Warhound weapon. But if you needed to try to prove to somebody that "re-roll misses" still applies to blast weapons, I think you can do it, per the above.

EDIT: As for how "worthwhile" the actual bonus is, I think that depends mostly on how big your targets are and how much you care about scattering. A laser blaster is mathematically incapable of missing a target bigger than 11" in diameter, so if your targets are around that size, it's a pretty silly bonus.