Log in

View Full Version : How Many Weapons?



Man in Black
05-15-2011, 12:26 PM
Hi Forum!

I played Warhammer 40000 mainly during 3rd Edition and did a few games during 4th, then I remember that each model could only carry two weapons (and only one of those could be a two-handed weapon).

Now at 5th Edition I can't find such a rule and many armies like Chaos Space Maries have in their wargear the bolter, the ccw and a bolt pistol.

Does this mean that they carry all that equipment to battle, or the player must choose any two of those? Is it possible to get a reference to where such a rule could be found?

Any other rule that changed from 3rd to 5th that I could have missed from a light read of the Rulebook? (I already got run, it is cool.)

lobster-overlord
05-15-2011, 12:42 PM
They carry all of it, but can only opt to use the two handed weapon or the pair in one turn...

Such as...

I choose to shoot the bolter at long range this turn... thus I am subject Rapid Fire and cannot assault with the 2 CC weapons.

OR

I choose to shoot the unit in front of me with my bolt pistol this turn and then run in and beat them upon the face with my chainsword...

My opponent one game was shocked when I opted to do this with my Devastators once. He figured he'd get a couple of Lascannon shots to the face then be able to assault me the next turn, but he took 5 bolt pistols and I charged him.

John M.

Wildeybeast
05-15-2011, 12:42 PM
Models carry all the weapons listed under the wargear section of their unit entry in the codex, so marines have both. The restriction is that a unit may only ever make a single shooting attack in a turn, regardless of the number weapons. So marines could choose which to fire, for example if you want to assult that turn you would fire the pistols.

Nabterayl
05-15-2011, 12:48 PM
There are no restrictions on how many weapons a model can carry in 5th edition (unless there's such a restriction in your codex, of course - 5th edition doesn't override that restriction in the older codices). There is still a restriction on how many weapons you can fire, of course (see page 15; you can only fire one weapon per turn unless otherwise noted).

Also note that whether a weapon is two-handed and one-handed is now only relevant when deciding which weapon(s) a model is using in close combat. The only restriction a two-handed weapon now imposes is that it cannot be used in conjunction with any other weapons in close combat (page 42). It may, however, be used with other items in close combat. Thus, a two-handed close combat weapon cannot be used with a pistol, to gain the bonus for using two close combat weapons, but it may be used with a storm shield, which is not technically a weapon.

Man in Black
05-15-2011, 12:59 PM
Thanks to you all. I'm kinda sad my Black Templars don't get to use bolters and then switch to bolt pistol and ccw...

ToBeWilly
05-15-2011, 01:38 PM
Thanks to you all. I'm kinda sad my Black Templars don't get to use bolters and then switch to bolt pistol and ccw...
That's exactly what they can do. Just not in the same turn.

Tynskel
05-15-2011, 01:39 PM
Thanks to you all. I'm kinda sad my Black Templars don't get to use bolters and then switch to bolt pistol and ccw...

Well Space Marines don't get to either. Only Space Wolves and Chaos Marines.

Nabterayl
05-15-2011, 02:16 PM
Thanks to you all. I'm kinda sad my Black Templars don't get to use bolters and then switch to bolt pistol and ccw...
Yeah, sorry. Codex restrictions still apply.