PDA

View Full Version : Forgeworld Models: Begginer Needing Tips and Tricks

aycee71
05-12-2011, 10:24 AM
I am starting to buy some more Forgeworld models. I am new to the whole resin thing, and I know enough to know that it is a very different animal then plastic or metal that I am use to in regards to cleaning and shaping bent parts. I have been trying to glean some hints on different threads but I haven't found a thread specifically on the preparation and painting of resin models.

Farseer Aycee

isotope99
05-12-2011, 10:39 AM
Don't know of a specific thread but here are my steps (the list below looks quite long but they are generally not too bad):

1) Check components - You don't get sprues so you can get two left feet etc. sometimes.
2) Clean - standard dishwashing liquid will do fine in warm water
3) Bend (mostly needed on eldar)- Heat the piece and then bend it. Don't do too much too fast or it will snap. Very hot water or a hairdryer seem to be the popular choices.
4) Trim - Be careful if using a saw not to breathe in the dust. Otherwise, a sharp knife should do. Take small chunks and be careful not to stress the resin the wrong way or it can snap.
5) Dry fit - Sometimes the pieces need adjustment depending on how they have come out of the mould but you often won't get a perfect fit
6) Pin (if needed) - I don't usually pin my models (see step 8) but sometimes you might want to.[Note I have assumed no magnets will be used but they woudl go in this step too]
7) Glue - Superglue is needed for resin
8) Green stuff - You can fill gaps and reinforce joints with green stuff. Even if there is no gap some key joints will benefit from green stuff cement to strengthen them (e.g. warhound titan hips)
9) Spray - You may need two coats depending on how well you have cleaned the pieces
10) paint as normal

Gotthammer
05-12-2011, 12:02 PM
Forge World have recently put up a guide on their website:

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Downloads/Product/PDF/R/resintips.pdf