PDA

View Full Version : Double Daemonblade



memnarch_129
04-18-2011, 04:17 PM
Under the Ordos Malleus Inquisitor it says you may replace his bolt pistol and/or chainsword with a Daemonblade for 15 pts. Now since the Daemonblade is a two handed weapon I know that a Ordo Malleus with 2x Daemonblade wont gain an additional attack for 2 CCW.
Now some of the abilities on the Daemonblade list say Attacks made with the Daemonblade gain X, others say the Bearer gains X, and 6. Vampyre says its Wielder gains +1 wound. The ones with Attacks and Wielder are deffinitely only if the Daemonblade is used to make attacks (the model has to wield the weapon to make the attacks). What about any of the Bearer abilities?? Is it possible to have 2 Daemonblades (one with Vampyre and Dark Ressurection and the other with Familiar and Deathlust) and benefit from the abilities that say Bearer on the Daemonblade not being used??
Im open to it being interpreted either way and am just a little currious on what you guys think.

plawolf
04-18-2011, 05:00 PM
I would think not, as you would need to be using the blade to benefit from its abilities, and the BBB clearly states you cannot use different CC weapons per round of combat unless expressly allowed by a codex.

memnarch_129
04-18-2011, 05:13 PM
Yes I know that you can not use different weapons in the same round of combat. I said this in my original post. What Im wondering is that two of the abilities simply say the bearer. To bear an item is simply to carry it ( like when someone carrys a back pack they are bearing it). So while yes you wont be able to use some of the abilities because they say when you make an attack or wield the blade, two of them simply say the bearer of the blade gains X USRs.

MaltonNecromancer
04-18-2011, 05:40 PM
I think that's the sound of a hair splitting I hear.

You're arguing that the Inquisitor takes one Daemonweapon as a weapon, and the second becomes essentially a piece of unusable wargear. Your argument hinges on a semantic game here, and one that assumes the Daemonweapon isn't a weapon. But it is.

As written, you could take two Daemonweapons, and roll for each seperately.You would then use the abilities of each separately; they wouldn't stack. So weapon A gives you abilities 1 and 2. Weapon B gives you abilities 3 and 4. Each turn you can either use abilites 1 and 2 or 3 and 4, but not both, as the rules explicitly state you cannot use different weapons in the same round of combat.

So RAW, no four ability Inquisitors for you.

SeattleDV8
04-18-2011, 07:50 PM
MaltonNecromancer is correct.
The same arugment was used with SW frost axes.
See, the bearer gets +1 to St so if I have 2 I'm 'bearing' 2!! +2 St!
SW FAQ
"Q. Does a model armed with two frost blades/axes get +2
to their Strength? (p57)
A. No."
Bearing, using weilding all mean the weapon that you are striking with, just one, make your choice if you have two.

Tynskel
04-18-2011, 07:52 PM
FAQs are really hard to use against another codex. Codex rules are self contained units.

wkz
04-18-2011, 08:01 PM
Hmmm, a unique quandary we have here...

Note A: Both weapons are called Daemon weapons. Both weapons are thus the same(?), thus it falls under the "2 similar special weapons" ruling. RAW says we get +1A from wielding both... BUT:
(Edit: Opps. These weapons are 2-handed. Thus, you can only wield them one at a time... Note B is still relevant thou...)

Note B: "No two Daemon weapons are alike, roll on the table...", will suggest, RAI-wise that the Daemon weapons are DIFFERENT weapons despite the same name, thus it falls under "2 different special weapons" ruling. Basically, with the assumption above, RAW says you get to choose the weapon to use* during close combat but you do not get the +1A.

* and thus 2 offensive effects from that one weapon choosen, although I would say ALL defensive effects are always active from both weapons.*

Note C: If it so happens you roll the same powers for BOTH weapons... would this fall back into "2 similar special weapons" ruling??
Edit: Nope. 2 handed weapons at work here. The stuff in red is wrong.

...
...
Also, by RAW: "...the bearer ..." style rules/abilities should always be active, all the time. Its like Storm Shields/Thunderhammers: although clearly an equipped weapon-type wargear, the Storm Shield will work similarly to terminator armor or Chaplain's crozious in the fact that its effects will always be active all the time even if the OTHER weapon (thunderhammer) is the one being used.

SeattleDV8
04-18-2011, 08:02 PM
Except of course when the FAQ backs up the rules in the BRB, like this does.

Tynskel
04-18-2011, 08:31 PM
No, FAQs for codexes are independent.

Don't get me wrong here, I am not defending two uses of Daemonblade. I am just saying FAQs for Codexes are essentially self contained.

You should use Rulebook rules to refute this, like wkz has.

wkz
04-18-2011, 10:56 PM
Opps. Forgot the Daemon weapons under discussion are 2 handed weapons...

So, Yes to the OP's question: it is possible to use a daemon weapon (with +ability to weapon itself) while benefitting from another daemon weapon (with +ability to bearer of weapon). As said in my post earlier, the "unused" weapon is no different from a crozious or storm shield in this regard.

But you're obviously taking a gamble here: if both weapons rolled abilities that only affect the weapon itself, you're losing 15pts from an unused Daemon weapon every time you're swinging in close combat...

memnarch_129
04-18-2011, 11:32 PM
Thanks for all of the feed back on this guys. As I said in the original post I can see the arguement from both sides and was just curious on what ppl thought. While I agree that each FAQ does only apply to the specific book its written for (cause what GW says works one way in one FAQ works entirely opposite in another) I do think its more than likely you only get the rules from one Daemonblade.
The reason I asked was more for goof off fun lists. While in lists that are just for fun you could say it works however you want, if your opponent allows, I still like trying to keep things semi close to the way they would actually work. So will probably agree with the one Daemonblade side but if the opponent wants to let me use the two and get both rules I will just for the fun of it. Once again thanks for the input.

MaltonNecromancer
04-19-2011, 06:05 AM
The reason I asked was more for goof off fun lists.

In which case, the only rule you need to worry about is to ask your opponent nicely. If they say yes, you can. If they say no, you can't. I can't imagine many will say yes (which is, I imagine, one of the reasons you started this thread :rolleyes:), but you never know.

FTE-Charge!!!
04-19-2011, 09:14 AM
yikes what a potentially insane rules conundrum you've made lol

A big fail on the d weapon, it pretty much shows that there is no drawback to taking chaos artifacts lol

Tynskel
04-19-2011, 02:15 PM
Opps. Forgot the Daemon weapons under discussion are 2 handed weapons...

So, Yes to the OP's question: it is possible to use a daemon weapon (with +ability to weapon itself) while benefitting from another daemon weapon (with +ability to bearer of weapon). As said in my post earlier, the "unused" weapon is no different from a crozious or storm shield in this regard.

But you're obviously taking a gamble here: if both weapons rolled abilities that only affect the weapon itself, you're losing 15pts from an unused Daemon weapon every time you're swinging in close combat...

Not completely so, as with all weapons, you can choose which weapon you will be using in close combat. So you may use one ability in one assault phase, then the following phase switch to the other one.

gcsmith
04-19-2011, 02:51 PM
the problem with the argument of only gaining if ur wielding is that you would lose things like +1 if for a turn u used the bolt pistol for a wierd reason. so this doesnt make sence

wkz
04-19-2011, 07:31 PM
the problem with the argument of only gaining if ur wielding is that you would lose things like +1 if for a turn u used the bolt pistol for a wierd reason. so this doesnt make senceDouble-handed weapons will never get the +1 for 2 weapons, no matter how many pistols you own on the model...

And those weapons we're talking about? Double-handed. It IS something you're going to lose anyways...

gcsmith
04-20-2011, 05:44 AM
Lol meant to put wound there sorry for confusion, I think simply owning teh daemon weapon gives u the bonus. because it could be interesting if you go down to 1 wound, and chose for some reason to use ur pistol in combat.