PDA

View Full Version : Kids say the darnedest things

Grimfoe
04-15-2011, 05:03 AM
Anyone else play with young kids? I've been out of the hobby for about 15 years while my wife and I went back to school, started our own business and (of course) had children. I have 3 kids, a 13 year old daughter and two boys, 9 and 7.

Thanks to Dawn of War, all three kids became interested in 40K. I started playing Space Hulk with them, and then started playing 40K. It's a blast. I'm not sure how many folks at the LGS would appreciate them showing up, but we have a lot of fun at home.

I love the personality they attribute to each model as the game goes on and from game to game.

My daughter, Melissa, is old enough that she's just a gamer. She's cried a little of a loss here and there, but who doesn't feel like crying after failing their 3rd terminator save in a row? (She plays CSM)

My favorite quote: She misspoke one time when she first started playing CSM. Ever since, the commander of her army is "Donovan," the despoiler.

My elder son, Paul, is the best sportsman you'll ever meet. He only cares about fielding stuff he thinks is cool and will try to win, but couldn't care less if he lost.

My favorite quote: When trying to settle on a marine chapter, we discussed all the different special characters and what each chapter did: "Dad, there's no point in taking a Marine Commander if he doesn't have orbital bombardment."

My younger son, Matthew, is the consumate competitor. Every sport he plays in is full speed all the time. He's also the one that will sit and paint with me for hours. (he's a horrible painter)

My favorite quote: Paul shot and killed Matt's Warboss. As the tears welled up in Matt's eyes he said, "Now we're going to kill everything you have on the table." As if the orks were willing to negotiate before that happened.

Anyway, I don't mean to blog. I'm just trying to demonstrate how much fun we have when we play. The child's perspective on the game is a blast.