PDA

View Full Version : Thousand Sons Army

blackarmchair
04-12-2011, 11:08 PM
Alright, so I've been tempted by the dark gods.

After seeing the new Tomb Kings models I've been persuaded to build something I've always wanted to do: a Thousand Sons army.

Unfortunately, I'm not very experienced with Thousand Sons (nor with Chaos in general) so I'm having a difficult time organizing an effective armylist. The army needs to be fluffy but also effective, it needn't be tournament winning but I'd like to be viable and fluffy at the same time if possible.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated; thanks in advance.

Lockark
04-12-2011, 11:44 PM
What I would suggest is something alonge the lines of for 2000 points should be two 1kson Squad, two CSM squads (Mercenaries?), and 9 oblits.

(Of course spicing this up and swapping to your preference.)

The bassic idea is to use the oblit for long range shooting and the Rubric marines and CSM for mid range shooting. Rubric marines are devastating mid range, but you will need to supplement them with cheaper CSM.

It doesn't matter witch cult troops your using, this is always the truth.

All you realy need to know is:

-Don't bother with Havocs or Preds, because oblits do it better for about the same points.

-Don't give the rubric Marien's Scor's Bolt of Tzeetch. It's not as good as it looks on paper. It's expensive and you want your 1Ksons shooting at guys, not tanks. Your better off giving his Gift of Chaos in my Experience. People try to counter Rubric's with CC, Gift of Chaos helps you try and pick out the powerfists and Power weapons to help you survive.

-You play Chaos. Until we get a new book there not the most flavorful army. As 1ksons you will have to be dedicated, and open to count-as to make your army interesting to play in any way.
=/

Oh. Also forgot. Tzeetch Termies with there ++4 is basically the best chaos will ever get to Storm Shields.You can make a pretty fun CC termy squad using the mark of tzeetch.