Log in

View Full Version : Grey Knight & Inquisition transport clarifications?



Wildcard
03-30-2011, 04:48 PM
First of all, i do not own any Space Marine Codexes, so i cannot be sure how these 'issues' may have been worded in those.. However, here are few points I find a bit odd (and cos i know the problems will rise out in the following week(s) in our gaming group) :)

-p.33: Rhino and Razorback TRANSPORT: -- Neither vehicle can carry models in Terminator armour
-p.36: Landraider, it doesn't say anywhere on the rules that it can transport Terminators, yet we all know LRs can do that.
-p37: Stormraven, Only thing regarding transporting is the statement that it can carry jump infantry(and dreadnought) , unlike other transports.
-p51: Inquisitorial Chimera, does not state that cannot transport terminators.

So..

As it is stated only in the case of Rhino and Razorback that these transports can't transport terminators,
can Terminators be transported in the other vehicles ( Land Raider, Stormraven, Chimera)?

Also, about the general use of transports: (i know its Errated for other Codexes - however in different ways imo)

Who are eligible and for what transports after they have been placed on the table and game has started?

Could i take 3x Inquisitorial Henchmen and Chimera for them and on the first turn dump them out of the transport and put a purgation squad with 4x psilencer or 4x psycannon inside?

Cheers!

PS. I made some hasty notes from the book, so the pages might be a wrong, but don't let it bother you :)

DarkLink
03-30-2011, 05:15 PM
You're looking at the Terminator thing wrong.

A transport does not need a special rule to transport Terminators. By default, every transport in the game can carry Terminators.

Rhinos and Razorbacks, however, have a special rule that prevents them from carrying Terminators. The IG FAQ extends this to Valkyries and Vendettas.

Everything else can carry Terminators.


As to your second question, transports can carry any unit. They are not restricted to one particular unit. Dedicated transports can only be deployed with the unit they were purchased for inside, but once the game starts anyone on your side can jump in and out as much as they want.

WillyRapier
04-06-2011, 08:28 AM
As to your second question, transports can carry any unit. They are not restricted to one particular unit. Dedicated transports can only be deployed with the unit they were purchased for inside, but once the game starts anyone on your side can jump in and out as much as they want.

DarkLink is quite correct here. Worth noting, however, that some armies (such as Black Templars) DO allocate transports to units for the length of the game. these instances are few, far between, and explicitly stated in the rules (one of the few times that GW gets the explicit stating thing right...)

Termies in a chimera though...hadnt thought of that :evilgrin:

Exterminatus
04-18-2011, 11:46 PM
Yep you can mount those termies in any of those vehicles except the rhino and razor.

"To the righteous we bring hope. To the tainted we bring fire."

- Castellan Garran Crowe