PDA

View Full Version : 1750 Daemons

faeg nad teli
03-30-2011, 07:26 AM
Hi all, I'm currently building my first 40k army (after years of playing fantasy) and I'd like to hear your opinions about it. I'll mainly use it at my LGS but I'll also have some tournament fun when I get the hang of the army.

I started playing as part of a tale of X-gamers campaign so I currently have the following 1000pts painted as a basis: Bloodthirster, 2x 3 flamers, 2x10 bloodletters, 5 plague bearers, daemonprince of tzeentch.

I currently think of expanding it to the following:

HQ:
Bloodthirster + blessings, unholy might
Herald + juggernaut, blessings, unholy might
Skulltaker + juggernaut

Elite:
4 Flamers
3 Flamers
4 BLoodcrushers + Fury, Instrument, Icon

Troop:
10 BLoodletters + Icon
10 BLoodletters
5 Plague bearers

Heavy support:
Daemon prince + Tzeentch, Bolt
Daemon prince + Tzeentch, Bolt, Iron hide

I made it a nice even 1750 pts, but the 4th flamer is perhaps a surplus. I could also see dropping a unit of flamers in favor of another daemon prince with bolt to bust more tanks, or perhaps some fiends.
But I take any suggestions

blackarmchair
03-30-2011, 10:54 AM
Welcome to 40k! Not a bad start sir.

Your HQs look good, I would consider taking those heralds on Chariots but the Juggernaut works. Out of curiosity do you plan on running both heralds with the same unit of bloodcrushers? Because that would be overkill lol.

Elites look okay too. Be aware (in case you already are not) that flamers are largely suicidal and given the dominance of mech they can often be ineffective because your enemy will often hide his troops in vehicles from your flamer alpha strike. If this is the case, don't include them in your first wave. Bloodcrushers look nice, be sure to up their squad size in larger games.