Log in

View Full Version : Quick question about "The Summoning".



AshHammer
03-23-2011, 09:07 PM
As the Grey Knights codex entry says for "The Summoning" (or Quicksilver), you can only use it at the beginning of the Librarian's movement phase. So does that mean I can not use it if my Librarian has used Deep Strike to enter the table?

Just a thought on using the Librarian as a unit collector to focus my firepower. If I have to hang about for a turn to be shot at... well then it becomes less of a useful ability.

SotonShades
03-24-2011, 04:06 AM
At the start of your movement phase, your librarian isn't on the table, and he can't use his powers if he isn't on the table.

If you were planning on using the librarian in this way, you'd be best to deploy him on the table rather than deep strike and use him to help other units deepstriking in.

AshHammer
03-24-2011, 06:08 AM
Yeah, that is what I thought. Thanks.

Lerra
03-24-2011, 09:05 AM
Both events happen at the beginning of the movement phase, and it's generally accepted that reserves happen first because of the wording in the BRB:


At the start of each of his Movement phases except the first, before moving any unit, the player must roll a dice for each of his units in reserve.

Note: you must roll for reserves as soon as possible and must bring them onto the table as soon as they are available. You may not delay making the dice rolls or eep the reserves hanging around off-table until you decide you need them!

So yes, you can deep strike and then use The Summoning.

hisdudeness
03-24-2011, 09:28 AM
Negative. Beginning of the movement phase is before any movement happens. Once you place a deepstriking unit movement has happened, thus no more beginning of movement actions.

Once you place the librarian on the table you have moved a unit and are no longer at the beginning of the phase.

Lerra
03-24-2011, 09:32 AM
Once you place a deepstriking unit movement has happened, thus no more beginning of movement actions.

If this were true, you wouldn't be able to bring more than one unit out of reserves every turn.

hisdudeness
03-24-2011, 09:39 AM
Negative again. You roll for ALL reserves at the beginning of movement. Then you place them on the table in any order you wish. And then you move remaining units as normal.

You do not roll until a unit arrives, place it. Then roll until another unit arrives, place it. Etc. untill you are out of reserve units. Which I gather is how you play it.

AngelsofDeath
03-24-2011, 09:49 AM
Negative again. You roll for ALL reserves at the beginning of movement. Then you place them on the table in any order you wish.

Agree with roll for ALL reserves before you place any model. Then you take each unit that has rolled to come in and place it just like it was sitting on the edge of the table and moved on using its alotted move.

Under Psykers it says to refer to the codex and each power for specific rules. Its might be trying to split hairs as to which part of the movement phase. If it says begining I would take that it means before you move any unit.

dannyat2460
03-24-2011, 03:43 PM
This got FAQd BRB FAQ

hisdudeness
03-24-2011, 05:50 PM
Good God man, don't leave us hanging!

SeattleDV8
03-25-2011, 04:24 AM
BRB FAQ
"Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that occurs at
the start of a turn can they use that ability on the turn they
arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise."

Lerra
03-25-2011, 11:53 AM
That's not entirely relevant, as the start of the turn happens before the start of the movement phase.

The Summoning happens at the start of the movement phase.

DarkLink
03-25-2011, 12:20 PM
I don't think that GW defines "start of turn" or "start of movement phase" well enough to back up your argument, Lerra.

hisdudeness
03-25-2011, 12:32 PM
Here is the process as I understand it.

We do start of phase actions. This would be roll for reserves (but not place) and activate powers.

Once these are finished we do movement actions. This would be place reserves and standard unit moves. Normally in that order but I do not believe there is a rule stating such.

This is how I was taught and how I have seen it played in 3 different counties, 5 different states, and 30 some odd places. More importantly, it is how the rules tell us to do it.


Adding: Think of all reserve arrival modes. When a unit walks on the board from reserves, has normal movement not just started? Thus ending beginning of phase actions.

Astral Platypus
03-25-2011, 12:33 PM
I don't have a codex in front of me as I ask this; could you use The Summoning to bring in reserves?

hisdudeness
03-25-2011, 12:35 PM
No.

"...choose a friendly, non-vehicle unit that is not locked in combat anywhere on the battlefield."

Target must be on the table.