PDA

View Full Version : How are Cryx?

ScrutMaster
03-17-2011, 02:24 PM
I've been wanting to try Warmachine, played a game or two with friends models and I like the overall look of the Cryx, just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on this army from those who play em?

theHman
03-17-2011, 06:48 PM
I just started playing warmachine (Cryx) about a month and a half ago and have really been loving it.
As a long time 40k/fantasy player, I can say the Warmachine is a nice breath of fresh air.

If you don't want to paint up a "horde" army then stay away from Cryx b/c they really excell at putting down a large number of bodies on the field. However, with that said, you can also minimize the number of units used by buying jacks. Of course, when I say a 'horde' army, we're talking about 25-40 miniatures at most.

My 50 pts cryx army has something like 30 miniatures.

And that's something else that I really like about Warmachine/Hordes -- the low model count means you can actually get a painted army up and done in a reasonable amount of time. I have about 50% of my army completely painted; something I cannot come close to saying about my fantasy or 40k armies.

If you love playing an army that has lots of sneaky tricks and combos up your sleeve, then you'll probably really like cryx. Another army to look at is Circle of Orboros in the Hordes book. FYI - Hordes and Warmachine are pretty much interchangeable, the only real big difference is the way the caster/warlock and jacks vs beasts work.

But you can play a Hordes faction vs your friends Warmachine faction without any problems.

tonyzahn
03-18-2011, 07:04 AM
Disclaimer: I don't play Cryx, but I've played against them for years...

Cryxian warjacks are the fastest around, they hit plenty hard, a few have ways to get free focus, but they've got relatively weak armor and can't take as much damage as anyone else's warjacks.