PDA

View Full Version : Kill Points and Dedicated Transports and Squadrons



dcrabb
03-15-2011, 12:14 PM
A question came up in a friendly game recently.

How many kill points do you get if you kill all the passengers and destroy the dedicated transport, 1 point or 2?

I used to play that you had to kill the unit and the transport to get 1 kill point, but my opponent quoted me page 92 of the BRB that says:

“MULTIPLE UNIT CHOICES
Note that occasionally the Codexes allow the player to include several units in his army at the cost of a single force organisation slot (like dedicated transports, etc.). Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as separate units in all respects.”

and a follow on to that:

Do you get a separate kill point for each destroyed vehicle in a squadron or do you have to destroy them all to get one kill point?

Obviously it helps IG players to allow 1 kill point for a squad and transport and 1 kill point for an entire squadron of sentinels, or hellhounds, or Russes, or Valkyries, or basilisks, etc. but I don’t think that is a correct application of the rule quoted above. What say you?

L'Etat Cest Moi
03-15-2011, 12:15 PM
A vehicle squadron is 1 point. The dedicated transport and the people inside are 2.

doom-kitten
03-15-2011, 12:31 PM
Yeppers counts as two seperate units, so two kill points sucks monkey but ah well XD

Culven
03-15-2011, 12:44 PM
How many kill points do you get if you kill all the passengers and destroy the dedicated transport, 1 point or 2?
Do you get a separate kill point for each destroyed vehicle in a squadron or do you have to destroy them all to get one kill point?
Obviously it helps IG players to allow 1 kill point for a squad and transport and 1 kill point for an entire squadron of sentinels, or hellhounds, or Russes, or Valkyries, or basilisks, etc. but I don’t think that is a correct application of the rule quoted above. What say you?
Per:

“MULTIPLE UNIT CHOICES
Note that occasionally the Codexes allow the player to include several units in his army at the cost of a single force organisation slot (like dedicated transports, etc.). Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as separate units in all respects.”
Each and every Unit, regardless of their FOC slot or whether they share an FOC slot with other Units, is worth one Kill Point. So, one only need determine which group of models are a single Unit in order to determine which need to be destroyed to gain a Kill Point.

So, a Unit and their Dedicated Transport ( a separate Unit) would be worth two Kill Points. A Unit of Sentinels, Leman Russes, Valkyries and so on would be worth one Kill Point each. Yes, it does mean that some Units will more easily give up Kill Points, such as an Infantry Squad as compared to a Unit of three Leman Russes.

Lemt
03-15-2011, 01:44 PM
Per:

Each and every Unit, regardless of their FOC slot or whether they share an FOC slot with other Units, is worth one Kill Point. So, one only need determine which group of models are a single Unit in order to determine which need to be destroyed to gain a Kill Point.

So, a Unit and their Dedicated Transport ( a separate Unit) would be worth two Kill Points. A Unit of Sentinels, Leman Russes, Valkyries and so on would be worth one Kill Point each. Yes, it does mean that some Units will more easily give up Kill Points, such as an Infantry Squad as compared to a Unit of three Leman Russes.

I just want to add that units that don't take up a FoC slot (there are a few) are also worth a KP.

Culven
03-16-2011, 01:30 PM
I just want to add that units that don't take up a FoC slot (there are a few) are also worth a KP.
Right, becasue they are still Units regardless of the FOC slots they may or may not occupy.

dannyat2460
03-16-2011, 04:17 PM
Ok heres one for you then if a unit comprises of 3 inderpendant characters how many kill points are there?

im thinking sanginary priests

Lerra
03-16-2011, 04:58 PM
Three kill points.

Tynskel
03-16-2011, 05:15 PM
Three kill points.

Wrong! It is 13! Because those three are attached to another 6 Priests, a Reclusiarch, Captain, and honour guard all in a Land Raider Crusader!

Wildeybeast
03-17-2011, 12:03 PM
You could always just play with Victory points and then you can bypass this question and have a balanced and fair way of resolving who won.

Lemt
03-17-2011, 01:16 PM
Wrong! It is 13! Because those three are attached to another 6 Priests, a Reclusiarch, Captain, and honour guard all in a Land Raider Crusader!

The Land Raider is a different unit in that scenario. :cool: