PDA

View Full Version : Space Wolf Tanks

ninjacatz
03-02-2011, 04:12 PM
So, I am a beginner space wolf player hoping to intrigue my friend into the game by getting a tank. I am trying to decide between a predator, vindicator, or whirlwind. The main armies that I face are tyranids and orks. I have all the guys from assault on black reach plus a land speeder and 10 more grey hunters. So which tank do you think is best for a beginner space wolf army?

Chuck777
03-02-2011, 06:04 PM
You really couldn't go wrong with any of those three.

The biggest question you have to ask yourself is this - do you like throwing blast templates around, or not? If you don't, then go for the Pred. If you do, the next question you have to ask yourself is what kind of space wolf army are you going to build? Do you want a tank that sits safely in the back or a tank that moves up with your army? If the former, go for the Whirlwind, if the latter go for the Vindicator.

For a more specific look, why don't we look at the pros and cons of each tank:

Predator
PROS:
- Cost: The Pred only costs 60 points base, 85 for the dakka build
- Survivability: With 13 armor and 3 individual guns, you can rest assured the pred will stay useful throughout much of the game for a long while.
- Adaptability: The Pred can be kitted out to preform a variety of roles including Anti-Infantry, Anti-Tank or a mix of the two.
CONS:
- Cost: The Anti-Tank load out makes it the most expensive of the 3 tanks

Whirlwind
PROS:
- Cost: The base cost is just 85 points
- Survivability: The tank can fire barrage, so it can be safely hidden behind some LOS blocking terrain
- Adaptability: With two different modes of fire, you'll always have a shot that can hurt the enemy
CONS:
- Blast : Blast templates can totally miss and if you fire barrage you'll scatter the full distance (making missing more likely).
- Fragility: With only 11 Front armor, the tank is very fragile when fired upon by the enemy.