View Full Version : Abaddon Deamon Weapon
dannyat2460
02-13-2011, 02:25 PM
When Abaddon rolls a 1 does his Deamon weapon rebel against him?
Im going into a doubles with a Choas player and he mentioned it now ive never seen it that way but after reading his rules please note his rules there is no mention of him stabbing himself when a 1 is rolled.
however it does state that he counts as armed with a deamon weapon (Which doubles his S to 8)
What are your thoughts?
isotope99
02-13-2011, 03:30 PM
Unless specifically contradicted, I'd say the rest of the rules still stand. Something to be fixed next codex :mad:
"Hey Abby, quit stabbing yourself ;)"
jorz192
02-13-2011, 03:33 PM
Yes, it's a daemon weapon and the rules for daemon weapons say the bearer takes a wound when
a one is rolled. It's also in the issue of white dwarf that had the Blood Angels vs. Chaos space marines
battle report.
dannyat2460
02-13-2011, 04:00 PM
Cool i expected as much but wanted to make sure before my allie decided to argue it, and ironicaly im taking blood angels with him so should be an amusing match up.
And im taking corbulo so he can far seeing eye abadon to not hit himself .... if needed unless i feel the chaos scum deserves death ;)
Antenor
02-13-2011, 04:13 PM
Funnily enough this is usually how Abaddon kills himself when I field him, some much so that one game he made all his saving throws barring the ones where he stabbed himself in the face!
dannyat2460
02-13-2011, 04:41 PM
XD thats what im hoping to avoid with corbulo hanging around
Morgan Darkstar
02-13-2011, 06:35 PM
Do not have the CSM Codex so can not confirm this but there may be something in abaddons entry about him having complete mastery over the daemon weapon but i may be thinking about the previous codex
jorz192
02-13-2011, 07:30 PM
Do not have the CSM Codex so can not confirm this but there may be something in abaddons entry about him having complete mastery over the daemon weapon but i may be thinking about the previous codex
Nope, I have it with me and there is no such rule. To bad though, kinda puts a damper on the successor of Horus.
Morgan Darkstar
02-13-2011, 08:05 PM
must have been the previous codex then or i may have made it up in my head lol :)
definitely the greatest of my fluke wins was when my last unit on the board a weaponless rhino tankshocked abbadon and the full unit of un touched chaos terminators he was with they then failed two leadership rolls and ran of the table winning me the game "The Emperor Protects" lol :)
Daemonette666
02-13-2011, 10:08 PM
Do not have the CSM Codex so can not confirm this but there may be something in abaddons entry about him having complete mastery over the daemon weapon but i may be thinking about the previous codex
You might be gettinjg this mixed up with Typhus who has full mastery of his Psychic powersWind of chaos and Nurgles Rot. Although he has a Daemonic Force Weapon, he still has to roll for both the number of extra attacks it has, and if needed for the instant Death from the force weapon.
I checked all the way back through the last 4 Chaos Space Marine Codexes, and Abaddon does not have complete mastery over Drach'nyen.
Daemonette666
02-13-2011, 10:10 PM
must have been the previous codex then or i may have made it up in my head lol :)
definitely the greatest of my fluke wins was when my last unit on the board a weaponless rhino tankshocked abbadon and the full unit of un touched chaos terminators he was with they then failed two leadership rolls and ran of the table winning me the game "The Emperor Protects" lol :)
Death to the Corpse Emperor who broke his promise to the true Chaos Gods when they gave him the secret of Chaos Sorcery to create the Primarchs (who are inherently CHaos Creations - the Sons of the Chaos Gods). LOL
Antenor
02-14-2011, 04:38 AM
I checked all the way back through the last 4 Chaos Space Marine Codexes, and Abaddon does not have complete mastery over Drach'nyen.
He had it in the previous codex, he didn't need to take a leadership test if he killed someone with it (unlike all the other daemon weapons).
DrLove42
02-14-2011, 04:45 AM
And im taking corbulo so he can far seeing eye abadon to not hit himself .... if needed unless i feel the chaos scum deserves death ;)
Might have to check that with the comp organiser...most doubles armies i've played one sides "powers" can't affect the other half.
E.g a Farseer can't fortune an Ork Warboss...
dannyat2460
02-14-2011, 05:09 PM
Already cheaked with organiser and he says as long as its allies/friendly units in the rules its fine.
Eldrad says Eldar units so can only affect Eldar units (could bend rules to include Dark Eladar, archon with 2++ Rerolling)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.