PDA

View Full Version : Souls and the Imperium

CoruwenCaraniel
01-29-2011, 07:40 PM
So I know that Eldar souls keep their consciousness after death, but I have been told that humans, non-psykers to be specific, do not. Then I was told they do, yet neither side of the argument has a source to provide!

What is the truth?

Thanks!

dmcq
01-30-2011, 08:14 PM
Now I'm not an expert but as far as i can tell, in the fluff it talks about the warp being a realm of emotion and soul energy. I also seem to remember in one of the early Space wolves novels, Ragnar defeating magnus just as he and his disembodied thousand sons were emerging from the warp. now magnus aside, the thousand sons would have had to keep their individuality in order to re-materialize in our universe.

jorz192
01-30-2011, 08:30 PM
I would love to know the answer too. But it would probably erupt into an argument, at least it would on warseer:p

Force21
01-31-2011, 05:40 AM
Hmmmm.... A very interesting question...

All I can think of is that the Imperium believes pretty much the same way people think of heaven...

In the Imperial infantryman uplifting primer...trying to remember... when you die you stand before The Emperor & he judges you if you have served him well & if you did you stand beside him & all that good stuff, heaven like.

& mostly the Warp is thought of as hell....Demons, uncontrollable dark energy, lack of cats... etc...

Xas
01-31-2011, 06:09 AM
you have to divide between what mankind just believes and what is the truth in the universe of 40k.

we all know how hard "the truth" is to pinpoint in the grimdark future and this is nothing else.

takeing 20-30% sources (mostly horus heresy and the eldar codex) and the rest pure logical speculation I'd go and say the following: