View Full Version : Dark Eldar WIP Thread...

somerandomdude
01-20-2011, 02:40 PM
... because we don't have enough of those going on. :)

This is my first time posting pictures on here, so the angles and lighting might not be ideal.

A little background for me: I've been collecting 40k for two years, and I started with CSM before collecting DE (simultaneously) a couple summers ago. For the first year, I had maybe 6 models that I personally would've considered "done" for painting (only two of which I had bothered to clear coat), a few dozen to three colors, a poorly painted used DE army that I found through eBay, and a whole bunch of black undercoated minis. Last summer I managed to get 2000 points of CSM to three colors for WarGames Con, but otherwise I'm still far behind. I love converting, and I love painting a couple models at a time, especially ones that have some character to them. I love painting flowing cloth too because I think I'm pretty good at it. As you'll soon find out, I'm bad with armor, and I'm had with skin, but I'm hoping to get better through practice.

However, I've been intrigued with airbrushing, as I used to use an airbrush in an old job. It was only for flat basecoats of steel, but I enjoyed it and understood how the paint would flow and how I needed to move to keep even coats. This hasn't translated well for me to brush work, and part of the reason I had so much unpainted plastic was because I just got tired of the basecoats. So this Sunday, in an effort to improve my enjoyment with the hobby, I purchased myself an airbrush (after a couple months of watching videos and researching).

I've recently started on painting my DE army, which will be a force centered around The Baron and The Duke together. I will include every unit choice in my collection, but the army I'm putting together for the summer's tournaments will mostly focus on Hellions and Venoms. So guess what you get to see today?