PDA

View Full Version : ARMY PAINTER - Dragon red/pure red

addamsfamily36
12-21-2010, 09:07 PM
Hello one and all.

I'll jump straight to the point.

I am a fussy painter and can spend hours on single models, but i find it extremely difficult to batch paint. As a short cut, i have been looking into using one of army painters red primers for my Blood angels.

I have searched and found quite a few completed models, and one or two WIP pictures for dragon red but not many for pure red.

I was wondering if anyone has any experience with either spray colour. Or whether anyone has any pictures of figures undercoated with either spray.

Stage pictures i.e WIP pictures are also welcome.

Cheers guys and girls

aztex3400
12-21-2010, 11:24 PM
I have used the pure red on some blood angels. The problem I had was the paint took forever to "harden" up. It was also slick, and the other paint I used tended to flake off. I have not used the Dragon red, but I did use the blue and if you don't wash your models or if there is any residue on them it will puff. Ruined a whole Cygnar army that way.

Hope you have better results

RedScorpionsGirl
12-22-2010, 08:03 AM
I've used army painters extensively, have to say they are the best colour primer on the market. No offence to anyone intended, but it is common sense to ensure the models are clean and prepped before priming, period. The "puffing" reaction is normal with any primer if you don't take the time to properly prep miniatures.