Log in

View Full Version : seer council turbo boost question



Sinistermind
12-08-2010, 12:41 PM
just a quick clarification on something, i recently watched a batrep involving a seer council. and sorry im away from both codex and rulebook, but can you cast a psychic power when turbo-boosted??

i may have heard something wrong or misunderstood the video batrep but i could have sworn the eldar player had fortune on the turbo-boosted council for a reroll on that 3+coversave

to my knowledge i didnt think you can shoot/cast after turbo-boosting

another possible option is he had another farseer on the table and maybe put it on them with him...

Drew da Destroya
12-08-2010, 01:09 PM
I was totally wrong in my response... my rules-fu is weak!

Sinistermind
12-08-2010, 01:40 PM
I think that as long as it isn't classed a "Shooting Power", they can use it whenever.

ooo ok i didnt even think of that!!! i guess i figured turbo-boosting didnt let you do anything in the shooting phase at all
thanks!

Farseer_Orso
12-08-2010, 02:03 PM
ooo ok i didnt even think of that!!! i guess i figured turbo-boosting didnt let you do anything in the shooting phase at all
thanks!

Correct, it doesn't. Warlock powers, however aren't used in the shooting phase (except Destructor). I've heard arguments on both sides about non-shooting Farseer powers, but most people I know play that you can cast and turboboost in the same turn (following a similar train of logic to Farseers being able to cast out of a serpent without a firing port).

Nungunz
12-08-2010, 02:09 PM
another possible option is he had another farseer on the table and maybe put it on them with him...

No, you cannot. The rules state that you models that turbo-boost may not make any voluntary actions the rest of the turn. Using a psychic power is a voluntary action.

Unless a model has a passive ability, it can't do anything else the rest of the turn after it turbo-boosts.

somerandomdude
12-08-2010, 02:11 PM
You guys have the right ruling, but for the wrong reasons. Fortune is cast at the start of the Eldar player's turn, before turboboosting. However, once you turboboost, you can not do any voluntary actions. So, if Fortune was used in the shooting phase but didn't count as a weapon, it still would not be allowed.

dannyat2460
12-08-2010, 04:39 PM
You guys have the right ruling, but for the wrong reasons. Fortune is cast at the start of the Eldar player's turn, before turboboosting. However, once you turboboost, you can not do any voluntary actions. So, if Fortune was used in the shooting phase but didn't count as a weapon, it still would not be allowed.

I must disagree with this as it says you can not do any volentary actions in that turn (meaning player turn) which includes moving phase in its entirety, so unless it is an effect that is not volentary eg says "must" in the rules or before the players turn or movement phase then it can not be done in my eyes.

somerandomdude
12-08-2010, 04:51 PM
I must disagree with this as it says you can not do any volentary actions in that turn (meaning player turn) which includes moving phase in its entirety, so unless it is an effect that is not volentary eg says "must" in the rules or before the players turn or movement phase then it can not be done in my eyes.

I disagree with that because of the rules for fast vehicles:


Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that Movement phase.

In this passage it specifies that you can not do something if you are planning to do something else. Since the Turboboost rule doesn't say that, it's safe to believe that Turboboosting does not have the same limitations. You do not give up your ability to voluntary perform actions until after you have turboboosted.

JMichael
12-08-2010, 04:52 PM
nope can't do it.
rules p76
you may not execute any other voluntary action in the same turn.
So if you cast Fortune (which is done at the beginning of your turn) then you are indeed Fortuned, but cannot turbo-boost as you have already performed a voluntary action.
just takes careful planning. What I do, is have another Farseer cast fortune on the jetbike squad.

Jetbikes are not vehicles at all and moving flat-out is totally different. Flat-out doesn't specifically state that you can't perform any actions that turn (if a fast vehicle had Machine Spirit it could still fire one weapon. So can Spearhead formations).

DarkLink
12-08-2010, 05:21 PM
He's right.

"Controlling their bike at such speed takes all their concentration and skill, however, so they cannot move through difficult terrain, shoot, launch assault, or execute any other voluntary action in the same turn."

eldargal
12-09-2010, 12:33 AM
This is why I stuff them in a Wave Serpent instead.:rolleyes: Can't get the cover save and use the 7 destructors/Doom/fortune combo, nor stab people inna hed.

Sinistermind
12-09-2010, 09:50 PM
This is why I stuff them in a Wave Serpent instead.:rolleyes: Can't get the cover save and use the 7 destructors/Doom/fortune combo, nor stab people inna hed.

lol well put! and didnt even think of a serpent hmm...


and thanks for the rules help everybody