PDA

View Full Version : Necron Tomb Stalker thoughts

hewhowalks
11-26-2010, 09:41 AM
Anyone else messed around with the Tomb Stalker?

A buddy plays necrons and tried it out in a 1500 point game against my guard. I'm still pretty new to competitive play, so I just run the typical melta/plasma vet mech spam list with a couple russes and a vendetta.

I was using Marbo, who basically just deployed near the stalker, threw his demo pack at its face (I know, waste of a blast template) and started waving his arms to distract it for a round while I got a melta vet chimera in position. The stalker then charged Marbo, who didn't last long. Lucky rolls with the melta guns and multilaser made short work of it.

I think next time my buddy will know to just ignore the Marbo appetiser and head for the main course (chimeras).

Seems to me like the tomb stalker, although a cool, monsterous fig. Is just one more necron unit you have to ignore while shooting warriors and hoping for phase out. This is a little harder since it's basically a "super-wraith" that wants to zoom across the table and get in your face. I think it's a neat addition, but doesn't seem to drastically change up the necron play style, or my game plan for dealing with the army.

I don't play Necrons, but I play against them a lot. Seems like their tactics are so straightforward that a new unit would be an opportunity to shake things up, not just another "star god" type model to throw a speedbump unit at.

I'd like to see it in a few more games. Just checking to see if others have played or faced it on the table? Also, any rumors if it will be a codex unit or only used in apoc?

game on!

Tynskel
11-26-2010, 09:54 AM
well, in theory, you should be hard pressed to ignore it. It is relatively inexpensive for a monsterous creature. Sort of.