PDA

View Full Version : Two Lemartes Questions



cobra6
10-07-2010, 09:14 PM
I looked in FAQ and scrolled through the first 8 pages of this thread, and didnt see this addressed, although I could be wrong..

1) Lemartes is an upgrade to a squad of DC, no? Can you take him all alone as a Death Company squad of one (I dont think you can since the DC has a minimum size of 3, but I've had this argument.) In the latter case, does he replace one of the 3 DC troopers, or is he added to the 3, making 4?

2) Lemartes has DoA, the DC does not. When you take Lemartes, does the rest of the DC get DoA, or does Lemartes lose this (which would make it an utterly and completely pointless rule for him?)

Thanks for your patience, I know there's no such thing as a stupid question, but I also know these are pretty close!

Tynskel
10-07-2010, 09:36 PM
p.88 The Death Company can include Lemartes. All this means is that you may purchase death company, and then purchase Lemartes. So, you could buy 3 Death Company and Lemartes, and nothing else!

2) No, Lemartes does not grant special rules to the rest of the unit, unless specifically noted (like Liturgies of Blood). The only way for Death Company to get Descent of Angels is to purchase Jump Packs. This is so you can purchase Jump Packs, then buy an upgrade character that also has the DoA.

One way I like to use Lemartes is like this:
Purchase 10 Death Company, 5 Power Weapons and Bolt Pistols, 1 Thunder Hammer and Bolter, 4 with Bolters and Chainswords. Lemartes.

Put them in a Stormraven. This all fits 10 Models, + '2' for Lemartes. Once they are on the Board, I never have to worry about Lemartes being in range for Close Combat: He can move up to 12" in the movement phase, as long as I maintain coherency with the Death Company--- so He can kill things on one side, jump to the other side to kill more stuff!

OXRS
10-08-2010, 07:09 AM
He's an upgrade character like Corbulo before him, but does not actually replace a model, and unlike DC Tycho, who is a unit of one, he can never be taken alone.

GW did a bit of a dumb thing when they decided how to assign DoA. They made it attached to the jump pack itself, instead of just giving the rule to anybody who could have a jump pack. As you can only use it with a jump pack, it's just awkward for no reason. Check the wargear section.

Edit: Duh, nevermind. It just clicked that it has to do with terminator armour. :P Still, I think they should have given it out to any infantry who could jump, and limited it to jump packs, like they intended.

Old_Paladin
10-08-2010, 07:40 AM
I never have to worry about Lemartes being in range for Close Combat: He can move up to 12" in the movement phase, as long as I maintain coherency with the Death Company--- so He can kill things on one side, jump to the other side to kill more stuff!

Sorry Tynsk, but you're not allowed to do that.
BGB, pg. 11: all models in a unit must move at the speed of the slowest member.

Lemartes with his jump pack in a unit of foot infantry can only move up to six inches.

cobra6
10-08-2010, 08:33 AM
They made it attached to the jump pack itself, instead of just giving the rule to anybody who could have a jump pack. As you can only use it with a jump pack, it's just awkward for no reason. Check the wargear section.

*DOH* :o

I just checked and yeah, there it is. I had just figured "after all these years, I know what a jump pack does" and didnt bother actually reading the entry. I guess I'll go back and read the entries for boltguns and power armor as well, to see if there are any important rules goodies there too. Thanks much!

Tynskel
10-09-2010, 10:54 PM
Sorry Tynsk, but you're not allowed to do that.
BGB, pg. 11: all models in a unit must move at the speed of the slowest member.

Lemartes with his jump pack in a unit of foot infantry can only move up to six inches.

Opps! We all miss something.