PDA

View Full Version : Chimera Gun Placement

SotonShades
10-03-2010, 05:13 AM
Right, so I've got a doubles tournament coming up to which I'm taking an Armoured Regiment list (from IA1) and I've got an Armoured Fist Squad in my 750 points.

Whilst I'm happy with the list overall, I'm not overly used to using Chimeras. In fact, I have never used one before so I'm a little unsure as to where to place the guns. Currently I have a hull mounted Heavy Flamer and a turret mounted Heavy Bolter.

The rational behind this was to allow the Chimera to move toward the objectives in the enemies' deployment zone while firing the HB at targets of oppertunity (using the turret for 360 degree LOS) and clearing said objectives with the HF on arrival.

In our first practice game (possibly more by luck than intention) almost all of the Chimera's targets were in it's front arc (so no need for the HB to be in the turret) and when I arrived at the objective I was unable to bring both the Chimera's HF and the Flamer from the squad inside to bear on the target to clear the objective.

Do you wonderful people on BoLS find this is often the case, and thus putting the HF in the turret proves a better option, or was this more of a one off occurance? What experience do people have using Chimeras in this way? Successful or disastorous? I'm thinking of naming the Chimera "Lucky B*s t*rd" due to the number of brightlance shots it survived in that first game!

Magos Bellum
10-03-2010, 09:21 AM
The hull Heavy Flamer on a standard (generally one with an infantry squad, and not some command or specialized unit) Chimera is more of a defensive tool than an offensive one. Especially against non MEQ's, it is a deterrent for charging the Chimera (which dies easily when charged). Enemy gets close, then you move forward 6" and flame them, hopefully causing the squad to retreat or wiping them out entirely.