PDA

View Full Version : Air Brush questions

MarshalAdamar
09-28-2010, 08:02 PM
Ok, I'm thinking about taking the next step in my hobby evolution.

About me, I would say I am an above average painter, I have good artistic sense studied it a bit. Point is I think I could learn a new skill with out blinding myself.

So I'm thinking about an air brush to do more subtle blending, base coating and painting vehicles. All of which I’m told the air brush is brilliant at.

I want to hear from those of you who use one how hard is it to learn REALLY?

How long / how many models did you destroy before it became a useful tool not just a compressed air monument to poorly spent money.

And if it’s worth getting what kind is good / reliable and how much did it cost

energongoodie
09-29-2010, 01:39 AM
I have just taken the first step into the world of Airbrushing myself. My second go will be today hopefully on a Tauros Venator. My first go on a Valkyrie is here.
http://www.lounge.belloflostsouls.net/showthread.php?t=10130
It took me a while to get the right paint consistency. I tried using Adeptus Battle grey neat, which didn't flow at all well. Then I made it too watery and it just ran off the model. It just needed a little water to make it flow nicely. just a few drops mixed in. That's the only advice I've got so far. Have fun with it.

MarshalAdamar
09-29-2010, 10:44 AM
Nice, I like the Valk! I like all the stuff you've painted I'll be interested in seeing the Venator!

Thanks for the info. Any suggestions on what kind of air brush? What kind do you have and do you like it?

Iceman
09-29-2010, 10:55 AM
In my opinion, an airbrush is indispensable. I initially used a Badger airbrush but found that cleaning the nozzles and internal parts was too much effort. Currently, I use an Aztech brush. It is fairly inexpensive and all the parts you have to clean are in the nozzles. If they get messed up, they are inexpensive to replace.